• Friday, Jan 24, 2020
  • Last Update : 02:19 am

Awami League’s new faces in Dhaka

  • Published at 12:55 am January 2nd, 2019
Salman F Rahman
Fron left, Salman F Rahman, Akbar Hossain Pathan Farooque, and Sadek Khan Collected

This time, Awami League nominated three completely new faces from Dhaka, all of whom won the polls on Sunday by large margins

The Awami League-led Grand Alliance won the 11th general elections by a landslide victory, surpassing its 2008 success, and Dhaka's constituencies are no different.

This time, Awami League nominated three completely new faces from Dhaka, all of whom won the polls on Sunday by large margins. They join the 17 other elected MPs.

Salman F Rahman, adviser to Awami League President Sheikh Hasina, who will represent the Dhaka 1 constituency – consisting of the Dohar and Nawabganj upazilas – has secured 86.5% of the votes. 

His main rival, independent candidate Salma Islam, a Jatiya Party leader and a 10th parliament lawmaker, who received BNP's support at the last moment, boycotted the election.

The ruling party nominated its Dhaka City North Unit General Secretary Sadek Khan, dropping Joint General Secretary Jahangir Kabir Nanak in Dhaka 13, which consists of Mohammadpur, Adabar, and Sher-e-Bangla Nagar. He won the seat with 64.2% of the votes in his favour.

Veteran actor Akbar Hossain Pathan Farooque is a completely new face in politics. He contested the Dhaka 17 constituency that includes Dhaka Cantonment, and Dhaka North City Corporation Wards 15, 18, 19 and 20.

Farooque has been associated with the Awami League for more than five decades and has also been the leader of the Bangabandhu Sanskritik Jote for many years. He drew 79.3% of the votes cast in the constituency.

For Dhaka 20, Awami League picked Benjir Ahmed dropping incumbent lawmaker MA Maleque. Benjir, who was a lawmaker in the ninth parliament, secured 96% of the votes.

For Dhaka 7, Haji Mohammad Salim received Awami League ticket even though he was not nominated in the 10th parliamentary election, but won independently. 

Salim, who received 74.5% of the votes, will represent the Dhaka 7 constituency that consists of Lalbagh, Chawkbazar, Kotwali and Bangshal.

The rest of the 15 lawmakers from the Awami League-led Grand Alliance from the 10th parliament will be the same.

The incumbent lawmakers from Awami League in Dhaka are Qamrul Islam from Dhaka 2, Nasrul Hamid from Dhaka 3, Habibur Rahman Mollah from Dhaka 5, Saber Hossain Chowdhury from Dhaka 9, Barrister Sheikh Fazle Noor Taposh from Dhaka 10, AKM Rahmatullah from Dhaka 11, Asaduzzaman Khan from Dhaka 12, Md Aslamul Haque from Dhaka 14, Kamal Ahmed Majumder from Dhaka 15, Md Elias Uddin Mollah from Dhaka 16, Sahara Khatun from Dhaka 18 and Dr Md Enamur Rahaman from Dhaka 19 

From Jatiya Party, a component of the alliance, Sayed Abu Hossain will represent Dhaka 4 and Kazi Firoz Rashid from Dhaka 6.

Workers Party of Bangladesh President Rashed Khan Menon is the only MP in Dhaka from the Grand Alliance representing a left-leaning political party.