• Wednesday, Jan 29, 2020
  • Last Update : 09:07 am

51.41% votes cast in EVM areas

  • Published at 09:53 am December 31st, 2018
A polling officer is seen assisting a voter to cast vote via Electronic Voting Machine (EVM) Syed Zakir Hossain/Dhaka Tribune

EVMS were used in six constituencies

More than 50% of voters in six constituencies have cast their ballots using electronic voting machines (EVM) during the 11th general election.

As many as 1.92 million out of 2.12 million voters of these constituencies cast ballots using EVMs on Sunday, and the average rate of vote cast was 51.41%, according to results sent by returning officers of those respective seats. 

The Election Commission decided to use EVMs in Dhaka 6 and 13, Khulna 2, Satkhira 2, Rangpur 3, and Chittagong 9 parliamentary seats, despite reservations from opposition parties. 

Among these, the highest rate of voting was in Chittagong 9 constituency, where 62.86% of ballots were cast. The lowest rate of voting wascast in Dhaka 13 constituency, at 43.05%. 

Rangpur 3 constituency saw 52.31% of ballots cast using EVMs, 45.6% of votes cast in Dhaka 6, 52.82% in Satkhira 2, and 49.37% of votes were cast in Khulna 2 constituency. 

The commission purchased around 10,000 EVMs for the six constituencies. Each EVM cost Tk2.10 lakh. The commission had the EVMs prepared by Bangladesh Machine Tools Factory. 

To dispel doubt and build trust among voters, the commission deployed 3,300 army personnel in the polling stations where EVMs were used. 

However, commission officials said the EVMs failed to get a big response even after spending so much money and engaging people. 

Awami League bagged four seats, while Jatiya Party, a component of the Awami League-led grand alliance, won two seats.  

In Khulna 2, Awami League candidate Sheikh Salahuddin got 112,100 votes while his rival BNP candidate got 27,379 votes. 

In Chittagong 9, Awami League candidate Mohibul Hasan Chowdhury won 223,614 votes and his rival BNP’s Shahadat Hossain got 17,642 votes. 

In Satkhira 2, Awami League’s Mir Mostak Ahmed Robi got 155,611 votes while his contender BNP candidate Md Abdul Khalek got 27,711 votes. 

In Dhaka 13, Awami League’s Sadek Khan got 103,163 votes and his rival BNP’s Md Abdus Salam got 47,232 votes. 

In Dhaka 6, Jatiya Party candidate Kazi Firoz Rashid got 93,552 votes and his closest rival Jatiya Oikya Front candidate Subrata Chowdhury got 23,690 votes. 

In Rangpur 3, Jatiya Party candidate HM Ershad got 142,926 votes while his closest contestant BNP candidate got 53,089 votes.