• Tuesday, Sep 28, 2021
  • Last Update : 02:04 pm

Voting postponed in 29 polling centres

  • Published at 07:59 pm December 30th, 2018
Election Commission Secretary Helal Uddin Ahmed announcing official results of 11th general election from different constituencies at the EC office in Dhaka's Agargaon on Sunday, December 30, 2018 Dhaka Tribune

EC Secretary Helal Uddin Ahmed maintains that the election was held amid festivity

Voting in 20 districts was postponed in 29 polling centres during Sunday’s 11th general election due to different types of irregularities.

Voting was held between 8am and 4pm in 40,000 polling centres across the country.

Addressing the media at the Election Commission office in Dhaka in the evening, EC Secretary Helal Uddin Ahmed said the voting was held around the country in a festive environment, barring some stray incidents of violence.

He said that 700,000 polling officials had worked during the polls in 299 constituencies — of which, 293 saw regular voting with ballot papers and electronic voting machines (EVMs) were used in the six others.

But balloting in 29 polling centres were postponed over various reasons and irregularities, Helal said, adding: “The EC has received reports of violent incidents in many areas. The law enforcement agencies have been asked to take legal steps over them.”

“We have also beefed up security around the country, to ensure that the results reach the returning officers in the respective constituencies and then to us without any problem,” he said.

After the briefing, the EC secretary went on to announce the official results from different constituencies.

The centres where voting has been postponed are-

Rangpur 2: In the Kaliganj High School — law and order situation worsened as miscreants attempted vote rigging.

Chapainawabganj 1: In the Terorshia Government Primary School, Bagbari Government Primary School, Char Jagannnathpur High School, Char Hasanpur Govt Primary School — ballot papers and ballot boxes had been hijacked.

Sherpur 1: Jamiya Arabiya Talimunnesa Mohila Madrasa, Sahaddirchar Modhyapara Government Primary School — miscreants attacked these polling centers, hijacked ballot papers and vandalized ballot boxes. Law enforcement officials also came under attack. 

Narsingdi 3: Kondarpara Government Primary School — violence caused the death of one and six ballot boxes had been hijacked.

Cox’s Bazar 1: Matborpara Government Primary School — violence led to one being stabbed to death in a clash between two parties.

Chittagong 10: Shaheed Nagar City Corporation Government Primary School — due to various irregularities at the centres. 

Rangamati: In the Gagra union, 10-12 activists had been injured in a clash between the Awami League and BNP at Rangipara area.

Brahmanbaria 1: Dhantolia Government Primary School, Koyorpur Government Primary School, Modhya Norottompur Government Primary School, Purbo Babunagar Government Primary School, Muradpur Government Primary School — law and order situation deteriorated.

Brahmanbaria 2: Jatrapur Government Primary School, Bahadurpur Government Primary School, Shohagpur Dokkhin Government Primary School — law and order situation deteriorated.

Brahmanbaria 3: Rajgarh Government Primary School — one died of gunshot wound during a clash with the police. 

Sunamganj 3: Kararai Madrasa — ballot box had been hijacked

Sunamganj 5: Kolaura Darus Sunnah Kasmia Senior Madrasa — no reason mentioned

Comilla 1: Bhelanagar Government Primary School — five ballot boxes had been vandalized and ballot papers had been hijacked.

Comilla 7: West Belasshor Government Primary School — two ballot boxes had been vandalized and three ballot boxes had been hijacked and one hijacker died of gunshot wound while hijacking.

Comilla 10: Balarampur Government Primary School — 1,800 ballot papers set on fire by miscreants.

Comilla 8: Adda Degree College — miscreants had hijacked all election accessories.

Chandpur 5: South Borokul Government Primary School — ballot box and ballot papers had been hijacked.

Noakhali 1: Kegna Natun Government Primary School, Poshchim Bazar Government Primary School, Nawabganj Government Primary School — ballot papers, ballot boxes, and other election accessories had been hijacked.

Noakhali 2: Madhya Noteshhor Islamia Ebtedayee Nurani Dakhil Madrasah — on Saturday night, seven to eight people came under attack including presiding officers, assistant presiding officers and police officials.

Noakhali 3: Khanpur Government Primary School — ballot papers, ballot boxes and other election accessories had been hijacked.

Facebook 51
blogger sharing button blogger
buffer sharing button buffer
diaspora sharing button diaspora
digg sharing button digg
douban sharing button douban
email sharing button email
evernote sharing button evernote
flipboard sharing button flipboard
pocket sharing button getpocket
github sharing button github
gmail sharing button gmail
googlebookmarks sharing button googlebookmarks
hackernews sharing button hackernews
instapaper sharing button instapaper
line sharing button line
linkedin sharing button linkedin
livejournal sharing button livejournal
mailru sharing button mailru
medium sharing button medium
meneame sharing button meneame
messenger sharing button messenger
odnoklassniki sharing button odnoklassniki
pinterest sharing button pinterest
print sharing button print
qzone sharing button qzone
reddit sharing button reddit
refind sharing button refind
renren sharing button renren
skype sharing button skype
snapchat sharing button snapchat
surfingbird sharing button surfingbird
telegram sharing button telegram
tumblr sharing button tumblr
twitter sharing button twitter
vk sharing button vk
wechat sharing button wechat
weibo sharing button weibo
whatsapp sharing button whatsapp
wordpress sharing button wordpress
xing sharing button xing
yahoomail sharing button yahoomail