• Wednesday, Jul 08, 2020
  • Last Update : 12:41 am

Pre-election violence: Attacks on police, vandalism continues across country

  • Published at 12:56 am December 20th, 2018
WEB_Sherpur_Dhaka Tribune
Miscreants vandalize the election campaign office of the Awami League candidate from Sherpur 1 constituency, in Bagbari Bazar of Sadar upazila on Wednesday morning Dhaka Tribune

The clashes took place in Sherpur, Madaripur, Tanagail, Narsingdi, Moulvibazar

Members of law enforcement agencies, political offices, and election rallies were attacked and vehicles torched in several districts yesterday, leaving 25 including two poll candidates injured on the 9th day of electioneering ahead of the 11th general election, slated for December 30.

The clashes took place in Sherpur, Madaripur, Tanagail, Narsingdi, Moulvibazar

In Sherpur, miscreants vandalized the election campaign office of the Awami League candidate from Sherpur 1 constituency, in Bagbari Bazar of Sadar upazila in the morning.

Md Nazrul Islam, officer-in-charge of Sherpur police station, said unidentified miscreants vandalized the furniture inside the office in Dhola union at night, and later set it on fire.

In Tanagil, three police officers were injured when miscreants attacked a police van after felling a tree in Sakhipur upazila.

Sakhipur police Station OC Amir Hossain said a gang of 50-60 criminals armed with sticks attacked the police van when it was patrolling in the Borochowna area around 12:30am.

After hearing news of the incident, patrol teams from various parts of the upazila converged at the location and opened fire to bring the situation under control.

Additional members of police have been deployed in the area after the attack.

The OC said it was revealed during primary interrogation that former Kaila union chairman Abdul Halim Sarkar, who is accused in a case, and his followers conducted the attack.

The police have filed a case accusing 300 people over the attack.

In Madaripur, a fire engulfed two trucks stationed in the New Town area on the Madaripur-Shariatpur Highway.

Miscreants attack the BNP office in Goshairbar union under Dhunat upazila in Bogra on Wednesday Dhaka Tribune

 Mohammad Quamrul Hassan, officer-in-charge of Madaripur Model police station, said the incident occurred near the residence of Shahjahan Khan, the current shipping minister and Awami League candidate from Madaripur 2 constituency, in the early morning.

According to Nittya Gopal Sarkar, manager of Madaripur Fire Station, miscreants torched the two buses stationed on the highway and fled the scene.

“After receiving news of the incident, a fire service unit was dispatched to the scene and took half an hour to bring the flames under control. But by then, all the goods stored on the trucks, including its engines, were consumed by the blaze,” he said.

According to OC Hassan, it is suspected that the fire stemmed from the truck’s battery.

“The matter will be investigated further,” he added.

However, Madaripur District unit Transport Workers Union General Secretary Mizanur Rahman said miscreants set fire to the trucks to create unrest in the constituency ahead the general polls.

In Narsingdi, the motorcade of Jatiya Oikya Front backed candidate Manzur E Elahi came under attack in Shimulia area of Shibpur upazila in the morning.

At least five people were injured and 12 vehicles torched in the attack, said BNP sources.

They added that the miscreants confined Manzur to a house under the area for an hour.

Manzur blamed Awami League men for conducting the attack.

Shibpur police station Officer-in-Charge Abul Kalam Azad said police went to the spot and freed Manzur after learning of the incident.

In Natore, BNP candidate from Natore 2 constituency Sabina Yasmin and four others were injured when her motorcade came under attack in the Trimohini area of the district.

The district unit BNP General Secretary Aminul Haque said a group of Awami League supporters attacked the election campaign, leaving the BNP candidate and four campaigners critically injured.

 Natore Awami League Organizing Secretary Malek Sheikh denied the allegations.

In Moulvibazar, two Awami League men were reportedly injured when they were came under attack in a poll campaign in Sreemangal upazila.

Sreemangal police station Officer-in-Charge Nazrul Islam said police officials have visited the site of the attack.

In Bogra, Awami League men reportedly set fire to the BNP office in Goshairbar union under Dhunat upazila around 7.30 pm.

In Rajshahi, at least 10 people were injured in a poll campaign in Rajshai 4 constituency , police sources said.

In Habiganj, the motorcade of Oikya Front candidate from Habiganj 1 constituency Dr Reza Kibria came under attack in the Bander Bazar area, when he was returning from an election campaign. A local BNP leader was injured in the attack.

blogger sharing button blogger
buffer sharing button buffer
diaspora sharing button diaspora
digg sharing button digg
douban sharing button douban
email sharing button email
evernote sharing button evernote
flipboard sharing button flipboard
pocket sharing button getpocket
github sharing button github
gmail sharing button gmail
googlebookmarks sharing button googlebookmarks
hackernews sharing button hackernews
instapaper sharing button instapaper
line sharing button line
linkedin sharing button linkedin
livejournal sharing button livejournal
mailru sharing button mailru
medium sharing button medium
meneame sharing button meneame
messenger sharing button messenger
odnoklassniki sharing button odnoklassniki
pinterest sharing button pinterest
print sharing button print
qzone sharing button qzone
reddit sharing button reddit
refind sharing button refind
renren sharing button renren
skype sharing button skype
snapchat sharing button snapchat
surfingbird sharing button surfingbird
telegram sharing button telegram
tumblr sharing button tumblr
twitter sharing button twitter
vk sharing button vk
wechat sharing button wechat
weibo sharing button weibo
whatsapp sharing button whatsapp
wordpress sharing button wordpress
xing sharing button xing
yahoomail sharing button yahoomail