• Thursday, Jan 23, 2020
  • Last Update : 01:49 am

Oikya Front: PMs can only serve 2 consecutive terms

  • Published at 02:19 pm December 17th, 2018
Jatiya Oikya Front
File photo: Jatiya Oikya Front chief Dr Kamal Hossain, with other leaders of the platform dring the unveiling of its election manifesto on December 17, 2018 Mahmud Hossain Opu

Jatiya Oikya Front unveiled its 14-point election manifesto on Monday

Jatiya Oikya Front in its 14-point election manifesto has mentioning that a person can only serve up to two consecutive terms as the prime minister of Bangladesh.

Nagorik Oikya Convener Mahmudur Rahman Manna read out the manifesto at an event that began at Hotel Purbani International, in Dhaka, around 11am on Monday.

The abovementioned pledge is a part of the manifesto where the balance of power was also discussed, mentioning that the power wielded by the president and the prime minister will be re-balanced.

Other pledges mention new ideas such as creation of an upper house in the parliament, appointment of the deputy speaker from opposition, and significantly increasing the number of female representatives in constitutional organizations.

The manifesto also mentioned that the number of reserved female seats in the parliament will be dropped from 15% to 10%, but making women 20% of the total nominated candidates will be made mandatory in all future general elections.

It also points out that the much talked about article 70 of the constitution will be amended after discussion with all stakeholders. 

The article 70 states that a person elected as a member of Parliament at an election at which he was nominated as a candidate by a political party, shall vacate his seat if he resigns from that party, or votes in the parliament against that party.

The manifesto stated that to test the viability of creating provincial governments throughout Bangladesh, an all-inclusive national commission will be formed.

Alliance chief Dr Kamal Hossain and senior leaders Mirza Fakhrul Islam Alamgir, Zafrullah Chowdhury and Kader Siddique among others are present in the program.

The election is scheduled to be held on December 30.