• Monday, Mar 25, 2019
  • Last Update : 03:57 pm

EC reinstates 80 nominations on first day of appeal hearings

  • Published at 11:52 am December 6th, 2018
web-nomination appeal-ec
Aspirant candidates wait for appeal hearing at the Election Commission in Dhaka on Thursday, December 6, 2018 Rajib Dhar/Dhaka Tribune

A total of 160 rejected nominees have gone through the first phase of the appeal-hearing process

The Election Commission has reinstated the nominations of 80 nominees after hearing their appeal petitions.

They are now allowed to contest the upcoming 11th parliamentary election, scheduled to take place on December 30.

The decisions resulted from the hearings of 160 petitions conducted at the Election Commission building in Agargaon, Dhaka on Thursday.

Of them, 80 were approved, 76 rejected and four others were pending, said the commission’s Joint secretary (Public Relation) SM Asaduzzaman.

The four pending appeals will be resolved by Saturday, he added.

Of the 80 appeals that were granted, 38 were BNP candidates. Golam Maula Rony of Patuakhali 3, Morshed Milton of Bogra 7, Khandakar Abu Ashfaq of Dhaka 1, and Tamizuddin of Dhaka 20 were among them.

However, appeals by BNP's Iqbal Hasan Mahmud Tuku from Sirajganj 2, Mir Mohammad Nasiruddin from Chittagong 5, Ruhul Ruhul Kuddus Talukdar Dulu from Natore 2, and Sabira Sultana from Jessore 2 were rejected.

Chief Election Commissioner KM Nurul Huda led the hearing process.

A total of 160 rejected candidates were scheduled to go through the first phase of the appeal hearing process Thursday.

The commission will dispose of 150 more petitions today and the remaining 233 tomorrow.

Also Read - EC reinstates candidacy of BNP’s Rony, Milton, Tamizuddin

BNP nominees cleared Thursday also include: Maj (Rtd) Akhtaruzzaman of Kishoreganj 2, Abdul Majid of Jhenaidah 2, Faridul Kabir Talukder (Shamim) of Jamalpur 4, Mohammad Shahjahan of Patuakhali 3, Abdul Kaiyum Chowdhury of Sylhet 3, Fazlur Rahman of Joypurhat 1, Hasadul Islam of Pabna 3, Abidur Rahman

Khan of Manikganj 2, Ainul Haque of Sirajganj 3, AKM Mukhlesur Rahman Ripon of Sherpur 2, Selim Bhuiyan of Dhaka 5, M Tozzammel Haque of Manikganj 1, Ahmed Taibur Rahman of Mymensingh 3, Abu Asif Ahmed of Brahmanbaria 2, Syed Abu Bakar Siddique of Dhaka 14,Abdul Khalek of Kurigram 3, Nurul Amin of Chittagong 1, Mostafa Kamal Pasha of Chittagong 3, and Mohammad Yunus of Comilla 5. 

Other candidates whose nominations were approved are: Sumon Sanyamat of Patuakhali 1, Afsar Ali of Satkhira 2, Jahirul Islam Mintu of Madaripur 1, Mahbub Alam and Joynal Abedin of Gazipur 2, Jasmine Noor Baby of Brahmanbaria 6, Mustafa Selim of Rangpur 4, and SM Shafiqul Alam of Khulna 6.

Additionally: Jubair Ahmed of Habiganj 1, Abdullah Al Helal of Brahmanbaria 3, Abu Bakar Siddique of Mymensingh 2, Sulaiman Khan Rabbani of Habiganj 4, Alauddin Mridha of Natore 4, Yunus Ali of Kurigram 4, and Anisuzzaman of Barisal 2, saw their nominations accepted.

The following were also approved: Kamruzzaman Swaddhin of Jhenaidah 3, KM Mujibul Haque of Comilla 3, Foyzul Munir Chowdhury of Sylhet 5, Abdul Mannan of Jhinaidah 4, Syed Anwar Ahmed Liton of Brahmanbaria 3, Mamunur Rashid of Brahmanbaria 5,  Zakir Hossain of Dhaka 14,Mahfuza Rahman of Kurigram 4, M Mokhlesur Rahman of Brahmanbaria 2, Mahbub Alam of Lakshmipur 1, Mohammad Niamul Bashir of Chandpur  5, and M Ashraf Uddin of Brahmanbaria 4.