• Saturday, Dec 04, 2021
  • Last Update : 01:53 am

Chittagong businessmen eager to join election fray

  • Published at 10:37 pm November 19th, 2018
web-chittagong business community election race

The directors of Chittagong Chamber of Commerce and Industry (CCCI) are also not lagging behind in the nomination race

Leaders of several trade bodies of Chittagong have submitted nomination forms wishing to contest in the upcoming 11th parliamentary election slated for December 30.

A majority of them have shown interest to join the electoral race on Awami League tickets.

The hopefuls are former and incumbent leaders of the Bangladesh Garment Manufacturers and Exporters Association (BGMEA), Chittagong Chamber of Commerce and Industry (CCCI), Khatunganj Trade and Industries Association (KTIA), Real Estate and Housing Association of Bangladesh (Rehab), and Junior Chamber International (JCI).

BGMEA Vice President Mohammed Nasir has submitted his nomination form to contest from Chittagong 12 constituency.

Apart from him, some other leaders of the apparel sector have submitted nomination papers to the Awami League. BGMEA First Vice President Moinuddin Ahmed and Mujibur Rahman have submitted nomination papers for Chittagong 10 and Chittagong 16 constituencies respectively.

The directors of Chittagong Chamber of Commerce and Industry (CCCI) are also not lagging behind in the nomination race.

But the directors of the trade body have collected nomination papers from the Awami League. Sarwar Hasan Jamil, incumbent lawmaker Didarul Alam, and Ohid Siraj Chowdhury, have collected nomination papers for Chittagong 3, Chittagong 4, and Chittagong 15, constituencies respectively.

Syed Sagir Ahmed, former director of the CCCI and current secretary of Khatunganj Trade and Industries Association, has purchased nomination papers for Chittagong 9 constituency.

This time the Rehab's Chittagong chapter leaders wish to run in the approaching general election.

Abdul Kauiam Chowdhury, Chittagong chapter President of Rehab, has collected nomination forms for Chittagong 14 constituency.

Altaf Hossain Chowdhury, secretary Bangladesh Customs Clearing and Forwarding Agents Association, has purchased nomination forms for Chittagong 11 constituency.

Managing Director of Borotakia Group, Niaz Morshed Elite, and Mujibur Rahman, director of Sanowara Group, have both collected nomination papers from Awami League for Chittagong 1 and Chittagong 9 constituencies respectively.

Jafrul Islam Chowdhury, former President of the CCCI and BNP's south district unit President has collected nomination paper to contest from Chittagong-16 (Banshkhali) constituency.

Amir Khasru Mahmud Chowdhury, former CCCI President and BNP's Standing Committee member has collected nomination paper to vie from Chittagong-10 (Doublemooring) constituency. 

Besides, Shamshul Alam, Managing Director MEB Group and BNP's Chittagong city unit Vice President has collected nomination form wishing to contest from Chittagong-9 (Kotwali) constituency.

Facebook 57
blogger sharing button blogger
buffer sharing button buffer
diaspora sharing button diaspora
digg sharing button digg
douban sharing button douban
email sharing button email
evernote sharing button evernote
flipboard sharing button flipboard
pocket sharing button getpocket
github sharing button github
gmail sharing button gmail
googlebookmarks sharing button googlebookmarks
hackernews sharing button hackernews
instapaper sharing button instapaper
line sharing button line
linkedin sharing button linkedin
livejournal sharing button livejournal
mailru sharing button mailru
medium sharing button medium
meneame sharing button meneame
messenger sharing button messenger
odnoklassniki sharing button odnoklassniki
pinterest sharing button pinterest
print sharing button print
qzone sharing button qzone
reddit sharing button reddit
refind sharing button refind
renren sharing button renren
skype sharing button skype
snapchat sharing button snapchat
surfingbird sharing button surfingbird
telegram sharing button telegram
tumblr sharing button tumblr
twitter sharing button twitter
vk sharing button vk
wechat sharing button wechat
weibo sharing button weibo
whatsapp sharing button whatsapp
wordpress sharing button wordpress
xing sharing button xing
yahoomail sharing button yahoomail