• Tuesday, Sep 21, 2021
  • Last Update : 10:51 am

82 nomination seekers in 4 Bagerhat constituencies

  • Published at 12:18 pm November 19th, 2018
4 Incumbent MPs (From left) Sheikh Helal Uddin, Mir Showkat Ali Badsha, Habibun Nahar, and Mozammel Hossain are also among the nomination seekers Courtesy

72 of them are seeking nominations from the Awami League and BNP

As many as 82 candidates are seeking nominations from various parties to contest the upcoming general election from the four constituencies of Bagerhat.

The ruling Awami League and BNP have 36 aspirants each, although the four constituencies are currently dominated by the ruling party following the BNP boycott of the most recent polls in 2014.

Of the remaining ten candidates, four are seeking the nomination from Jatiya Party and four from Islami Shashontontro Andolon, while two Jamaat-e-Islami leaders are reportedly planning to contest the seat as independent candidates.

Political observers have blamed internal conflicts for this huge number of nomination seekers.

Awami League, seeking a third consecutive term in office, has warned that renegade candidates will be expelled from the party for life.

On the other hand, the BNP is desperate to make a comeback and the party’s participation in the December 30 election - if confirmed - will make it challenging for the Awami League to retain the Bagerhat seats. 

But this election will also be a tough fight for the BNP. It is unclear to what extent the party will be successful in the next election without its top leaders, after a decade out of Parliament.

With its chairperson Khaleda Zia in jail serving sentences in two corruption cases, it will be the first election since 1991 that BNP will contest without the former prime minister’s leadership. 

Her son and heir-apparent, Tarique Rahman, has been convicted in several cases and has been staying in London since 2008.

Bagerhat voters and political activists say they want the parties to pick candidates who have “kept in touch with locals”.

List of prominent Awami League and BNP candidates


Awami League candidates

BNP candidates

Bagerhat 1

Incumbent MP Sheikh Helal Uddin

8 candidates including: 

District unit Senior Vice-President Sheikh Wahiduzzaman Dipu, district Awami League advisor Sheikh Mujibur Rahman, Chitalmari Upazila Mohila Dal leader Runa Gazi, JASAS Organizing Secretary Monjur Morshed Swapan

Bagerhat 2

12 candidates including: 

Incumbent MP Mir Showkat Ali Badsha, Helal’s son Sheikh Sarhan Naser Tonmoy, Municipal Mayor Khan Habibur Rahman

6 candidates including: 

BNP district unit President MA Salam, Vice-President Monirul Islam Khan

Bagerhat 3

10 candidates including: 

Incumbent MP Habibun Nahar, actor Shakil Khan, Barrister Sheikh Obaidur Rahman

12 candidates including: 

BNP district unit General Secretary Ali Reza Babu, Save the Sundarbans Foundation Chairman Sheikh Faridul Islam, Mongla municipality Mayor Md Julfikar Ali

Bagerhat 4

13 candidates including: 

Incumbent MP Mozammel Hossain, former Chhatra League president HM Bodiuzzaman Sohag, Awami League leader Amirul Islam Milon, former additional police IG Abdur Rahim

10 candidates including: 

Central BNP leader Obaidul Islam, district unit leader Khairuzzaman Shipon, Farhana Jahan Nipa, the daughter of former BNP unit general secretary and freedom fighter Shamsul Alam Talukder

Facebook 51
blogger sharing button blogger
buffer sharing button buffer
diaspora sharing button diaspora
digg sharing button digg
douban sharing button douban
email sharing button email
evernote sharing button evernote
flipboard sharing button flipboard
pocket sharing button getpocket
github sharing button github
gmail sharing button gmail
googlebookmarks sharing button googlebookmarks
hackernews sharing button hackernews
instapaper sharing button instapaper
line sharing button line
linkedin sharing button linkedin
livejournal sharing button livejournal
mailru sharing button mailru
medium sharing button medium
meneame sharing button meneame
messenger sharing button messenger
odnoklassniki sharing button odnoklassniki
pinterest sharing button pinterest
print sharing button print
qzone sharing button qzone
reddit sharing button reddit
refind sharing button refind
renren sharing button renren
skype sharing button skype
snapchat sharing button snapchat
surfingbird sharing button surfingbird
telegram sharing button telegram
tumblr sharing button tumblr
twitter sharing button twitter
vk sharing button vk
wechat sharing button wechat
weibo sharing button weibo
whatsapp sharing button whatsapp
wordpress sharing button wordpress
xing sharing button xing
yahoomail sharing button yahoomail