• Wednesday, Dec 02, 2020
  • Last Update : 03:11 am

CCC councillors continue seeking AL ticket for general polls despite ban

  • Published at 12:53 am November 17th, 2018

'Any aspiring candidate who goes against the party decision will be expelled'

Defying a directive by the  Awami League (AL) central command, sitting ward councillors of the Chittagong City Corporation continue to seek opportunities to grab tickets from the party to run the polls race. 

Although several Chittagong City Corporation ward councillors  have purchased Awami League nomination forms, the directive bars them from contesting the ensuing 11th general election. 

Awami League General Secretary Obaidul Quader, following interviews of AL nomination aspirants held at Ganabhaban, said Awami League chief and Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina had decided that sitting mayors of city corporations and municipalities, and upazila and district administration chairpersons will not get the party ticket this time.

Any aspiring candidate who goes against the party decision will be expelled, the minister added.

Jobaira Nargis, who has been a ward councillor of the Chittagong City Corporation for five consecutive terms from the reserved seats for women, collected a nomination form from the Awami League party office, hoping to contest the upcoming general election from Chittagong 8.

Five more ward councillors - Dewan Bazar Ward Councillor Chowdhury Hasan Mahmud Hasni, Panchlaish Ward Councillor Kafil Uddin, Dakshin Maddhayam Halishahar Ward Councillor Ziaul Haque Sumon, Uttar Kattali Ward Councillor Nisar Uddin Ahmed, and Councillor from reserved seats for women Abida Azad, wishing to join the electoral race have collected nomination forms, saying that they wanted a wider platform to deliver services to public.

Panchlaish Ward Councillor Kafil Uddin collected the nomination form seeking the Awami League ticket from the Chittagong 8 constituency.

Abida Azad, ward councillor from reserved seats for women, and Uttar Kattali Ward Councillor Nisar Uddin Ahmed have purchased nomination forms to fight from the Chittagong 4 constituency.

Councillor Ziaul Haque Sumon collected the nomination form to contest the election from the Chittagong 11 constituency. 

blogger sharing button blogger
buffer sharing button buffer
diaspora sharing button diaspora
digg sharing button digg
douban sharing button douban
email sharing button email
evernote sharing button evernote
flipboard sharing button flipboard
pocket sharing button getpocket
github sharing button github
gmail sharing button gmail
googlebookmarks sharing button googlebookmarks
hackernews sharing button hackernews
instapaper sharing button instapaper
line sharing button line
linkedin sharing button linkedin
livejournal sharing button livejournal
mailru sharing button mailru
medium sharing button medium
meneame sharing button meneame
messenger sharing button messenger
odnoklassniki sharing button odnoklassniki
pinterest sharing button pinterest
print sharing button print
qzone sharing button qzone
reddit sharing button reddit
refind sharing button refind
renren sharing button renren
skype sharing button skype
snapchat sharing button snapchat
surfingbird sharing button surfingbird
telegram sharing button telegram
tumblr sharing button tumblr
twitter sharing button twitter
vk sharing button vk
wechat sharing button wechat
weibo sharing button weibo
whatsapp sharing button whatsapp
wordpress sharing button wordpress
xing sharing button xing
yahoomail sharing button yahoomail