• Thursday, Aug 22, 2019
  • Last Update : 02:29 am

AL to interview its nomination seekers Wednesday

  • Published at 08:05 pm November 12th, 2018
awmai league nomination paper sale
Awami League central leaders at the party president's political office in Dhanmondi during the sale of nomination papers for the upcoming general election, November 12, 2016 Mehedi Hasan

Awami League Parliamentary Board (ALPB) will interview all the aspirants, led by party President Sheikh Hasina

Those who have collected nomination papers to contest the forthcoming general election with the ruling Awami League will have to face interview on Wednesday.

Awami League Parliamentary Board (ALPB) will interview all the aspirants, starting at 11am at party President Sheikh Hasina's Dhanmondi political office.

Party President Sheikh Hasina will preside over the interview session.

Awami League General Secretary Obaidul Quader requested all the nomination seekers to be present on time.

On Friday, the ruling Awami League started selling the party's nomination forms after the EC announced the schedule for the 11th national elections.

The deadline for collection and submission of nomination papers expired at 6pm on Monday.

In the last three days the party sold 4,035 nomination forms.

Chief Election Commissioner (CEC) KM Nurul Huda on Monday announced a fresh schedule for the 11th parliamentary elections saying that the polls will be held on December 30 instead of December 23.

He came up with the announcement while speaking at the inaugural ceremony of Electronic Voting Machine (EVM) fair hosted by the Election Commission at Bangabandhu International Convention Centre in the capital.

He said the last date for submission of nomination papers is November 28 instead of November 19.

Abdur Razzaque, Faruk Khan joins Awami League parliamentary selection board

Ruling Awami League Presidium members Dr Abdur Razzaque and Lt Col (retd) Muhammad Faruk Khan have been made members of Awami League’s parliamentary selection board.

The senior leaders were selected as board members on Monday. Both leaders told Dhaka Tribune that they received the confirmation via phone calls from the party chief and Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina.

The 12-member of parliamentary selection board are—Sheikh Hasina, Obaidul Quader, Syeda Sajeda Chowdhury, Amir Hossain Amu, Tofail Ahmed, Syed Ashraful Islam, Sheikh Fazlul Karim Selim, Kazi Zafarullah, Dr Alauddin Ahmed, Rashidul Alam, Dr Abdur Razzaque and Lt Col (retd) Faruk Khan.

The parliamentary selection board members will select party candidates for the 11th general election scheduled to be held on December 30 this year.