• Saturday, Dec 04, 2021
  • Last Update : 12:55 am

Disputes rife among AL, BNP in Panchagarh 2 constituency

  • Published at 05:36 pm November 7th, 2018
Panchagarh 2
Top row (L-R) Advocate Nurul Islam Sujon, Brig Gen (retd) Dr Md Shahjahan Mondol, Md Abdul Malek Chisty, Mahmud Hossain, Farhad Hossain; Bottom row (L-R) Md Hamidur Rahman, Tasmia Prodhan Jui, Professor Emran AL Amin, Md Lutfor Rahman, Safiullah Sufi Dhaka Tribune

Nomination-aspirants of both parties are actively campaigning to woo voters

A number of Awami League leaders are seeking the party’s nomination to contest the next election in Panchagarh 2 constituency, resulting in intense disagreements. 

Aspirants from the ruling party, including the incumbent MP Advocate Nurul Islam Sujon, are busy wooing voters via public relations campaigns while also lobbying their party high-ups.

The main opposition BNP must also find a way to resolve a dispute with its alliance partner, the Jatiya Ganatantrik Party, in order to not split the vote in Panchagarh 2 constituency, which has 334,445 registered voters across Boda and Debiganj upazilas.

Jatiya Ganatantrik has a strong prospective candidate in the form of its central committee vice-president Tasmia Prodhan Jui, so BNP must make a careful decision about who to nominate as the chances of their candidates winning in the parliamentary polls are already quite slim.

At a glance: Panchagarh 2

While either the Awami League or BNP have won Panchagarh 2 at each of the past four elections, the seat was once known as a communist stronghold.

In 1986, the Bangladesh Communist Party (CPB) general secretary Comrade Mohammad Farhad was elected lawmaker for this seat, while CPB candidate Md Mojahar Hossain won here under the boat symbol in 1991. 

Mojahar then joined BNP in 1993, and won two consecutive terms as Panchagarh 2 lawmaker in 1996 and 2001. 

District Awami League president Advocate Nurul Islam Sujon then won the seat for the boat symbol in 2008 and held it in 2014.

Awami League’s preparation

A significant number of ruling party leaders and activists told the Dhaka Tribune that the incumbent MP might be nominated to defend his seat in the upcoming election due to his successful track record in Panchagarh 2 constituency.

During his tenure, Nurul has enjoyed the support of both his party activists and the public and he remains one of the most influential politicians in the region.

However, several party activists, on condition of anonymity, said the “immoral and undemocratic activities” of a few leaders had tarnished the image of the district Awami League and its local MP. 

Awami League, associated party aspirant-candidates 

  • Incumbent MP and district AL president Advocate Nurul Islam Sujon
  • Former chairman of Debiganj upazila parishad and veteran AL leader Md Abdul Malek Chisty
  • Bangladesh Muktijuddho Projonmo League central committee Vice-President Brig Gen (retd) Dr Md Shahjahan Mondol
  • Bangladesh JSD Central Organizing Secretary Professor Emran AL Amin

This reported misbehaviour has reportedly led to a fierce internal dispute among members of the local Awami League unit. 

“I believe in clean and public-oriented politics (and) my tenure as a lawmaker has improved the image of Awami league and increased my popularity,” lawmaker Nurul Islam Sujon said.

“Awami League is a large party, so it is normal for multiple aspirants to seek the nomination for one constituency. Awami League President Sheikh Hasina will make a final decision regarding nominations, with feedback from the grassroots.

Those aspirants include the former chairman of Debiganj upazila parishad and veteran AL leader, Md Abdul Malek Chisty, who has sought his party’s nomination for the past few elections. He is engaged in campaigning, mass rallies, and public relations - along with lobbying with the party high-ups.

Bangladesh Muktijuddho Projonmo League central committee Vice-President Brig Gen (retd) Dr Md Shahjahan Mondol announced his own bid to secure the AL nomination at a recent rally that showcased hundreds of motorcycles, cars, microbuses, and pickups in Boda and Debiganj upazila.

He frequently visits these upazilas to engage in public relations campaigns, meetings, and rallies. 

“The leaders and activists of Awami League and its associate organizations want to see a change of leadership in this constituency,” he told the Dhaka Tribune.

“I believe if a survey is conducted, I will be favoured by around 80% of the locals.”

Another contender is Bangladesh JSD Central Organizing Secretary Professor Emran AL Amin.

BNP’s electoral activities

Although a number of BNP candidates are making a serious effort to secure the nomination in Panchagarh 2, the party has lost two strong contenders following the deaths of district BNP president and four-time lawmaker Mojahar Hossain, and Jatiya Ganatantrik Party president Shafiul Alam.

BNP Central Executive Committee member Farhad Hossain is presently leading the race among the prospective candidates, and claims to have secured the verbal confirmation from BNP Vice-Chairman Tarique Rahman, Secretary General Mirza Fakhrul, and Barrister Md Jamiruddin Sarkar. 

BNP, associated party nomination-aspirants

  • BNP Central Executive Committee member Farhad Hossain
  • Former lawmaker Mojahar Hossain’s son Mahmud Hossain
  • Ex-president of Debiganj upazila BNP and ex-chairman of Chengtihazradanga Union Md Hamidur Rahman

“As per their instructions, I am campaigning in my constituency and organizing the local unit, so that we can recover this constituency,” Farhad said. “However, our leader Khaleda Zia is currently in jail (so) it is not yet certain whether our party will participate in the 11th general election.”

Former supporters of the late Mojahar and some other BNP leaders have taken a stand against Farhad due to long-standing disputes. They are backing Mojahar’s son, Mahmud Hossain, who has confirmed his intention to seek BNP’s nomination. 

“I want to finish my father’s work in this constituency, and I am optimistic that BNP will nominate me,” he said. “Leaders and activists from all tiers of the party have promised me their full support.”

Ex-president of Debiganj upazila BNP and ex-chairman of Chengtihazradanga Union Md Hamidur Rahman is also planning to contest the polls.

There are rumours that Jamaat leader and Boda upazila parishad chairman Safiullah Sufi and local Jatiya Party convener Md Lutfor Rahman are also planning to contest the 11th parliamentary election.

Facebook 75
blogger sharing button blogger
buffer sharing button buffer
diaspora sharing button diaspora
digg sharing button digg
douban sharing button douban
email sharing button email
evernote sharing button evernote
flipboard sharing button flipboard
pocket sharing button getpocket
github sharing button github
gmail sharing button gmail
googlebookmarks sharing button googlebookmarks
hackernews sharing button hackernews
instapaper sharing button instapaper
line sharing button line
linkedin sharing button linkedin
livejournal sharing button livejournal
mailru sharing button mailru
medium sharing button medium
meneame sharing button meneame
messenger sharing button messenger
odnoklassniki sharing button odnoklassniki
pinterest sharing button pinterest
print sharing button print
qzone sharing button qzone
reddit sharing button reddit
refind sharing button refind
renren sharing button renren
skype sharing button skype
snapchat sharing button snapchat
surfingbird sharing button surfingbird
telegram sharing button telegram
tumblr sharing button tumblr
twitter sharing button twitter
vk sharing button vk
wechat sharing button wechat
weibo sharing button weibo
whatsapp sharing button whatsapp
wordpress sharing button wordpress
xing sharing button xing
yahoomail sharing button yahoomail