• Monday, Nov 29, 2021
  • Last Update : 01:52 pm

Comilla 1 constituency: One BNP nomination-seeker; multiple for AL

  • Published at 02:30 pm November 1st, 2018
From left, Subid Ali Bhuiyan, Dr Khandaker Mosharraf Hossain, Mohammad Shafiqul Alam Collected

Comilla 1 constituency has 346,862 voters

BNP has only one nomination-aspirant for the election in Comilla 1 constituency whereas the ruling Awami League must choose from multiple hopefuls who are all competing to secure the party’s nomination.

Comilla 1 has 346,862 registered voters spread across the eight unions of Meghna and the 15 unions and one municipality Daudkandi upazilas.

For the main opposition BNP, Dr Khandaker Mosharraf Hossain is one of the most influential prospective candidates of this constituency. 

Visiting the area, the Dhaka Tribune learned that he is very popular among the local people and is one of the strongest prospective candidates.

The Awami League, however, has several aspirants in Comilla 1 including the incumbent Member of Parliament (MP), Subid Ali Bhuiyan, who claimed to have “rescued” the seat for the ruling party .

“I have worked very hard for the development of this constituency (and) I hope Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina will consider my contributions,” he said.

“There are others trying to get the party’s nomination but I am confident that our party will choose me.”

The “others” include Meghna upazila Awami League president, Mohammad Shafiqul Alam. He said that since 1973, no representative local to Meghna upazila has had the opportunity to become an MP. 

“People from all walks of life in Meghna upazila, regardless of their affiliation, want to see one of their own as a representative in parliament,” he said. 

Shafiqul said he had stood for parliament in 1991 as the youngest candidate from Comilla 1 constituency only to withdraw his nomination before polling day as per the instructions of party leader Hasina. 

“I am optimistic in securing the party’s nomination,” he said. “I want to gift this seat to my party by winning in the 11th national polls.”

Also in the race for the ruling party nomination are Awami League Central Committee Science and Technology Affairs Secretary Abdus Sabur, Hamdard University Vice-Chancellor Dr Abdul Mannan Joy, and Barrister Naim Hassan.

For the Jatiya Party, the central vice-president of the student society, Abu Zayed Al Mahmud, is seeking the nomination.

Banners, festoons, and posters for the 11th national election are on display all across the constituency. Some candidates are also holding press conferences and rallies to win over voters.

Facebook 117
blogger sharing button blogger
buffer sharing button buffer
diaspora sharing button diaspora
digg sharing button digg
douban sharing button douban
email sharing button email
evernote sharing button evernote
flipboard sharing button flipboard
pocket sharing button getpocket
github sharing button github
gmail sharing button gmail
googlebookmarks sharing button googlebookmarks
hackernews sharing button hackernews
instapaper sharing button instapaper
line sharing button line
linkedin sharing button linkedin
livejournal sharing button livejournal
mailru sharing button mailru
medium sharing button medium
meneame sharing button meneame
messenger sharing button messenger
odnoklassniki sharing button odnoklassniki
pinterest sharing button pinterest
print sharing button print
qzone sharing button qzone
reddit sharing button reddit
refind sharing button refind
renren sharing button renren
skype sharing button skype
snapchat sharing button snapchat
surfingbird sharing button surfingbird
telegram sharing button telegram
tumblr sharing button tumblr
twitter sharing button twitter
vk sharing button vk
wechat sharing button wechat
weibo sharing button weibo
whatsapp sharing button whatsapp
wordpress sharing button wordpress
xing sharing button xing
yahoomail sharing button yahoomail