• Friday, Jun 18, 2021
  • Last Update : 02:29 am

Kushtia 2 constituency: Multiple candidates in ruling, opposition alliances

  • Published at 01:45 am September 30th, 2018
Politicians seeking nominations from Kushtia 2 constituency include - clockwise, Hasanul Haq Inu, Shahidul Islam, Raghib Rauf Chowdhury, Abdul Gafur and Ahsan Habib Lincoln Collected

Inu leads nomination race in Kushtia 2; Jamaat has also determined its candidate for the constituency

Nomination-seekers from the Kushtia 2 constituency have started campaigning for party tickets to contest in the upcoming general election.

Information Minister Hasanul Haq Inu is the incumbent parliamentarian from the constituency which consists of Mirpur-Bheramara.

Since independence, BNP’s candidates have the seat five times, while the Awami League has won once. Jamaat-e-Islami and Jatiya Party candidates each won the seat once. Inu, who belongs to JaSad, won the 2008 and 2014 polls as a member of the Awami League-led grand alliance.

This time too, Inu is leading the the ruling alliance’s race for nominations. Awami League’s Mirpur Upazila unit General Secretary Kamarul Arefin may also seek the party’s nomination. He is currently busy campaigning.

Concurrently, former BNP MP Professor Shahidul Islam is campaigning for his party’s nomination. He won the seat three consecutive times, from 1996. 

Another of the party’s contenders is barrister Raghib Rauf Chowdhury, the central office secretary of the BNP-leaning lawyers’ forum. His father Abdur Rauf Chowdhury was a three-time MP from the constituency—and a freedom fighter.

Local sources say Jamaat has strong support in the area. The party, which lost its registration with the Election Commission, has chosen former Upazila Parishad chariman Abdul Gafur as its candidate. Party sources say they will seek this seat through the alliance.

Another candidate for the seat is former MP and Jatiya Party (Kazi Zafar faction) Ahsan Habib Lincoln—who is also being considered by the 20-party alliance as a candidate.

Jamaat’s Mirpur Upazila unit Secretary Zeramat Ali said they want to contest the upcoming general election as part of the alliance. “The centre has assured us. Abdul Gafur is a senior politician and we have fair chances of winning if the voting is fair,” he said.

Gafur said they are campaigning ahead of the election and will seek the constituency through the alliance.

Former BNP MP Shahidul said the party was prepared to contest the upcoming election. “We have continued campaigning. I believe the party high command will nominate me.”

In the Kushtia 2 constituency, Mirpur is the bigger of the two upazilas with 243,000 voters, while Bheramara has 131,000 voters. Both Inu and Awami League Joint General Secretary Mahbub-ul-Alam Hanif and Inu are residents of Bheramara.

“Inu’s popularity is at an all-time high. He defeated the BNP candidate by a large margin in the 2008 election. He will win the next election too,” said Mirpur Upazila JaSad General Secretary Ahmad Ali.

Facebook 50
blogger sharing button blogger
buffer sharing button buffer
diaspora sharing button diaspora
digg sharing button digg
douban sharing button douban
email sharing button email
evernote sharing button evernote
flipboard sharing button flipboard
pocket sharing button getpocket
github sharing button github
gmail sharing button gmail
googlebookmarks sharing button googlebookmarks
hackernews sharing button hackernews
instapaper sharing button instapaper
line sharing button line
linkedin sharing button linkedin
livejournal sharing button livejournal
mailru sharing button mailru
medium sharing button medium
meneame sharing button meneame
messenger sharing button messenger
odnoklassniki sharing button odnoklassniki
pinterest sharing button pinterest
print sharing button print
qzone sharing button qzone
reddit sharing button reddit
refind sharing button refind
renren sharing button renren
skype sharing button skype
snapchat sharing button snapchat
surfingbird sharing button surfingbird
telegram sharing button telegram
tumblr sharing button tumblr
twitter sharing button twitter
vk sharing button vk
wechat sharing button wechat
weibo sharing button weibo
whatsapp sharing button whatsapp
wordpress sharing button wordpress
xing sharing button xing
yahoomail sharing button yahoomail