• Sunday, Apr 21, 2019
  • Last Update : 08:39 pm

Election-time government to be formed in October

  • Published at 01:50 am August 29th, 2018
According to the constitution, the Election Commission must complete all preparations to hold the election within 90 days after the election-time government is formed Mahmood Hossain Opu/Dhaka Tribune

The temporary government will help the Election Commission to prepare for the 11th parliamentary election scheduled in December

The Awami League-led government is planning to form an election-time government by the end of October to ensure that the government continues to run smoothly until the 11th parliamentary election. 

This temporary government will also help the Election Commission to arrange a free, fair and all-participatory election, according to sources in the ruling party. 

The election-time government, which will be led by Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina, will be small in size and may include some new faces from the pool of elected lawmakers, the sources further said. 

The temporary government will be formed on October 30 or 31, they added. 

The 10th parliamentary election was held on January 5, 2014, and the first session of the current parliament was held on January 29 that year. 

As per Article 123 (3)of the constitution,the parliamentary election must be held within 90 days preceding the expiration of a parliament.

Following the directive, the 11th parliamentary election must be held between October 31, 2018 and January 28, 2019. 

However, the government is planning to hold the election by December 2018. Sources in the party said the Awami League top brass is considering to hold the election between December 25 and 31. 

Furthermore, according to the constitution, the Election Commission must complete all preparations to hold the election within 90 days after the election-time government is formed. 

Small government with fresh faces

The election-time government would be smaller in size than the previous ones, said the senior leaders of the Awami League and its allies.

Awami League Presidium Member Mohammed Nasim, who is also the spokesperson of the 14-party alliance, told the Dhaka Tribune that the election time government will have 20 or 21 members, to be led by Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina.

Some fresh faces from the elected parliamentarians are likely to make it to the election-time government, sources in the 14-party alliance said. 

This was confirmedby Nasim to the Dhaka Tribune, who said: “There are strong possibilities that a few new faces from the alliance partners, who are not in the (current) Cabinet, will be included in the election-time government.”

However, he declined to reveal the names that are being considered for the election-time government.

The sources in the alliance also said some of the members would be from the Jatiya Party. 

No room for BNP and allies, controversial ministers

No one from Bangladesh Nationalist Party (BNP) or its allies will have a place in the election-time government, said Awami League leaders. 

Awami League General Secretary Obaidul Quader recently said only representatives from parliament will be selected to form the election-time government. 

“Only elected lawmakers can be members of the election-time government, so there is no hope for the BNP. We have no plan to ask them to be a part of the election-time government as they are not a part of the current parliament,”Obaidul said.

He said the election would be held as per the constitution –the government would not arrange the election following anyone’s conditions.

To keep the election-time government beyond debate, the ruling party will also keep several heavyweight but controversial ministers and lawmakers out of the government, said party insiders.

Some political sources said BNP ally Liberal Democratic Party (LDP) may jointhe election-time government, but the Dhaka Tribune could not verify it independently as no one from the Awami League or the LDP agreed to comment on the issue.

Highlights: The election-time government

  • Likely to be formed on Oct 30-31
  • Will be led by Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina
  • Will have 20 or 21 members
  • Might include lawmakers outside the Cabinet
  • Will not include controversial ministers, lawmakers
  • No hope for BNP or its allies to join the election-time government