• Tuesday, Apr 23, 2019
  • Last Update : 02:57 pm

Jatiya Party’s Akkas wins Kurigram 3 by-polls

  • Published at 12:04 pm July 25th, 2018
Kurigram poll centre
Balloting at Kurigram 3 by-election began at 8am on Wednesday Dhaka Tribune

His nearest rival Awami League contestant MA Matin polled 2,703 votes less than Akkas Ali Sarkar

Jatiya Party (JaPa) candidate Akkas Ali Sarkar has been unofficially declared elected in the by-polls to Kurigram 3 constituency.

Akkas bagged 82,598 votes, according to Returning Officer GM Sahatab Uddin, while his nearest rival Awami League contestant MA Matin polled 79,895.

Voting at 159 polling centres, in 16 unions under Ulipur and Chilmari upazilas, in the by-election was held from 8am to 4pm on Wednesday.

There was also no report of any untoward incident.

Earlier in the morning, Matin had cast his vote at Ulipur MS High School centre and Akkas at Buraburi Government Primary School centre.

Afterwards, Akkas had expressed optimism about winning. “I hope the voting will be free and fair. The last MP from this seat was from Jatiya Party. I hope the people will choose us again,” he said.

The BNP did not contest the polls.

The parliamentary seat fell vacant following the death of JaPa MP AKM Mayeedul Islam on May 10.

The Election Commission had announced the schedule on June 10.

Although the constituency’s boundary has been demarcated, the election is being held with the electoral boundary fixed by the commission in the 10th national polls.