• Saturday, Mar 23, 2019
  • Last Update : 07:14 pm

Candidates begin campaigns in Barisal and Rajshahi cities

BNP-led 20-party alliance’s mayoral runner in Barisal City Corporation election Mojibor Rahman Sarwar started campaigning after receiving the electoral symbol on Tuesday, July 10, 2018 Dhaka Tribune

Electoral symbols have also been distributed among the mayoral and councillor candidates in Sylhet city polls

The mayoral and councillor candidates for the upcoming Barisal and Rajshahi polls kicked off their election campaigns in the cities on Tuesday after receiving their electoral symbols.

Symbols were also distributed on Tuesday among the mayoral and councillor candidates in Sylhet, where city polls will also be held on July 30.

In Barisal, the city polls Returning Officer Mujibur Rahman distributed 134 election symbols among the six mayoral runners, 94 general and 35 reserved seat councillor candidates in the morning.

Immediately after the distribution, all the candidates began their campaigns, which will continue until July 28.

Two days later a total of 242,166 voters of Barisal city will choose their next mayor by exercising their franchise at 123 polling centres across 30 wards. 

The electoral symbol “sheaf of paddy” went on Tuesday to BNP-led 20-party alliance’s mayoral runner Mojibor Rahman Sarwar while the “boat” went to Awami League’s candidate Sernibad Sadik Abdullah.

Both have expressed hopes of winning the election and are seen as frontrunners in the race for the mayor’s office.

In the race for council seats, four candidates were were unofficially elected in Barisal on Tuesday as there were no other contenders. 

Awami League’s mayoral runner in Rajshahi City Corporation polls AHM Khairuzzaman Liton campaigned and issued his elecion manifesto after receiving the electoral symbol on July 10, 2018 l Dhaka Tribune

They were Awami League nominated general councillor candidates Liakat Ali Khan Lovlu of Ward 15, Mosharraf Hossain Badsha of Ward 16 and Gazi Noimul Hossain Litu of Ward 19; and BNP nominated reserved seat councillor candidate Ayesha Touhida Luna of Ward 4. 

In Rajshahi city, all candidates – five running for mayor, 160 for general councillor and 52 for reserved seat councillor – also began campaigning after Returning Officer Syed Amirul Islam distributed the electoral symbols among them.

The electoral symbol “boat” went to Awami League’s mayoral runner AHM Khairuzzaman Liton and the “sheaf of paddy” went to BNP-led 20-party alliance’s candidate Mosaddek Hossain Bulbul.

A total of 318,138 citizens of Rajshahi city will vote at 138 polling centres to elect one mayor, 30 general councillors and 10 reserved seat councillors on July 30.

Election Commission officials have said the EC has completed its preparations for holding the elections at the three cities “peacefully and successfully.”