• Tuesday, Jul 27, 2021
  • Last Update : 02:32 pm

4 public universities get new VCs

  • Published at 06:53 pm June 1st, 2021
collage -Logos
Logos are Jagannath University (JnU), National University (NU), Rajshahi Medical University (RMU), and Khulna University (KU) Collected

Prof Md Ismail Khan has been reappointed as the VC of Chittagong Medical University

Four public universities in Bangladesh have appointed new vice-chancellors, while one other university has reappointed its incumbent VC for another term.

President Md Abdul Hamid, who is the chancellor of the universities in the country, made the appointments recently. 

The four universities are Jagannath University (JnU), National University (NU), Rajshahi Medical University (RMU), and Khulna University (KU).

Chittagong Medical University (CMU) has reappointed its incumbent VC, Prof Md Ismail Khan, for another term. 

The VC appointments at JnU, NU, RMU and CMU are for four years. 

The appointments

Dr Md Imdadul Hoque, professor at the department of botany in Dhaka University and dean of the Faculty of Biological Sciences, has been made the new vice-chancellor of Jagannath University (JnU).

The Directorate of Secondary and Higher Education (DSHE) of the Ministry of Education issued a circular in this regard on Tuesday.

Prof Dr Mashiur Rahman from the department of sociology in Dhaka University has been appointed as the NU VC.

Dr Mashiur Rahman, who previously served as the pro-vice-chancellor of the same university, will replace Dr Harun-or-Rashid, who completed his second term on March 5.

The DSHE issued a notice on Sunday formalizing Dr Rahman's appointment.

The academician earned his PhD from Sweden's Lund University and also did his postdoctoral there.

Rajshahi Medical University (RMU) has appointed Dr AZM Moshtaque Hossain, a retired professor of surgery at Dhaka Medical College and Hospital, as its new VC.

The Medical Education and Family Welfare Division under the Ministry of Health and Family Welfare announced Dr Hossain's appointment in a notification issued in Dhaka on Thursday.

Dr Moshtaque Hossain has been appointed as per Section 12 (1) of the Rajshahi Medical University Act, 2016. The order will be effective from the date of his joining.

Prof Hossain obtained his MBBS degree from Rajshahi Medical College.

Khulna University has appointed Dr Mahmud Hasan, professor of forestry and wood technology in the university, as the new VC.

President Hamid, approved the appointment as per Clause 11 (1) of the Khulna University Act, 1990, according to a press release issued on May 24.

CMU VC reappointed

Prof Md Ismail Khan, the first and the incumbent VC of Chittagong Medical University, has been reappointed for a second term. 

A circular signed by Abdul Quader, deputy secretary of health and family Welfare on April 26, announced his reappointment.

According to the circular, Prof Khan will serve as the VC of the university for another four years from the time of his appointment. 

The university will fulfil the obligations of the previous term as per the law, and he will get the same salary allowance and other benefits as before, the circular said. 

Facebook 50
blogger sharing button blogger
buffer sharing button buffer
diaspora sharing button diaspora
digg sharing button digg
douban sharing button douban
email sharing button email
evernote sharing button evernote
flipboard sharing button flipboard
pocket sharing button getpocket
github sharing button github
gmail sharing button gmail
googlebookmarks sharing button googlebookmarks
hackernews sharing button hackernews
instapaper sharing button instapaper
line sharing button line
linkedin sharing button linkedin
livejournal sharing button livejournal
mailru sharing button mailru
medium sharing button medium
meneame sharing button meneame
messenger sharing button messenger
odnoklassniki sharing button odnoklassniki
pinterest sharing button pinterest
print sharing button print
qzone sharing button qzone
reddit sharing button reddit
refind sharing button refind
renren sharing button renren
skype sharing button skype
snapchat sharing button snapchat
surfingbird sharing button surfingbird
telegram sharing button telegram
tumblr sharing button tumblr
twitter sharing button twitter
vk sharing button vk
wechat sharing button wechat
weibo sharing button weibo
whatsapp sharing button whatsapp
wordpress sharing button wordpress
xing sharing button xing
yahoomail sharing button yahoomail