• Thursday, Aug 05, 2021
  • Last Update : 07:34 pm

Uniform admission test for public universities: Only selected students to be allowed

  • Published at 10:45 pm February 4th, 2021
DU Admission test-Ka unit
Representational photo Focus Bangla

The decision came at a meeting of vice chancellors of 20 public universities on Thursday

Only selected students will be able to take part in admission tests under the cluster system for the academic session of 2020-21 at 20 public universities in Bangladesh. 

The decision was taken at a meeting of the vice chancellors (VC) of 20 general, science and technology universities on Thursday.

The meeting was held at Dhaka’s Jagannath University, Barisal University VC Prof Sadequl Arefin told Dhaka Tribune.

According to sources present at the meeting, the selection will be done from among candidates who have primary qualifications and apply for the admission tests.  

The schedule for the exams is yet to be finalized. 

Initially, all students will be allowed to complete their applications in compliance with the requirements set by the authorities. 

They will not be charged any money at this stage. After this, they will have to go through a screening process and only students selected will be allowed to proceed to the second stage. 

Those who qualify for the admission tests will be informed following the rigorous screening process and then they will have to submit applications again, which will be Tk500 per applicant. 

“However, as in previous years, the minus marking method will be applied in the cluster admission tests,” added Barisal University VC Prof Sadequl Arefin.

The universities that are taking centralized admission tests are Islamic University (IU), Shahjalal University of Science and Technology (SUST), Khulna University (KU), Hajee Mohammad Danesh Science and Technology University (HSTU), Mawlana Bhashani Science and Technology University, Noakhali Science and Technology University (NSTU), Jagannath University (JnU), Comilla University, Jatiya Kabi Kazi Nazrul Islam University, Jessore University of Science and Technology (JUST), Begum Rokeya University Rangpur (BRUR), Pabna University of Science and Technology (PUST), Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujibur Rahman Science and Technology University (BSMRSTU), Barisal University (BU) and Patuakhali Science and Technology University (PSTU).

The VCs of a total of 19 universities decided to take centralized admission tests at a meeting on December 1. Later PSTY decided to join them in the efforts to organize a unified admission system to lessen the sufferings of students.

Based on three subjects – science, humanities and commerce – admission tests will be conducted directly at these public universities. Question papers are to be prepared on the basis of the syllabus of the higher secondary exams.

Facebook 126
blogger sharing button blogger
buffer sharing button buffer
diaspora sharing button diaspora
digg sharing button digg
douban sharing button douban
email sharing button email
evernote sharing button evernote
flipboard sharing button flipboard
pocket sharing button getpocket
github sharing button github
gmail sharing button gmail
googlebookmarks sharing button googlebookmarks
hackernews sharing button hackernews
instapaper sharing button instapaper
line sharing button line
linkedin sharing button linkedin
livejournal sharing button livejournal
mailru sharing button mailru
medium sharing button medium
meneame sharing button meneame
messenger sharing button messenger
odnoklassniki sharing button odnoklassniki
pinterest sharing button pinterest
print sharing button print
qzone sharing button qzone
reddit sharing button reddit
refind sharing button refind
renren sharing button renren
skype sharing button skype
snapchat sharing button snapchat
surfingbird sharing button surfingbird
telegram sharing button telegram
tumblr sharing button tumblr
twitter sharing button twitter
vk sharing button vk
wechat sharing button wechat
weibo sharing button weibo
whatsapp sharing button whatsapp
wordpress sharing button wordpress
xing sharing button xing
yahoomail sharing button yahoomail