• Wednesday, Jun 20, 2018
  • Last Update : 02:50 am

DU to expel 15 students for involvement in admission test con

  • Published at 09:56 pm January 4th, 2018
DU to expel 15 students for involvement in admission test con
The disciplinary committee of Dhaka University on Thursday recommended permanent expulsion of 15 students from different departments, including two Chhatra League (BCL) leaders, for their alleged involvement in admission test fraudulence. The question paper of the university’s ‘D’ unit intake test was allegedly leaked a few hours before the exam, while 12 admission seekers were jailed by mobile court over fraudulence during the test on October 20 last year. Confirming the news, university proctor Prof Golam Rabbani said the connection between the convicted students with admission test forgery was proved in separate investigations by the Criminal Investigation Department of police, the university’s investigative bodies and multiple news media organizations. According to the disciplinary committee’s findings, BCL Assistant Secretary Mohiuddin Rana, also a master’s student of physics department, BCL leader of Amar Ekushe hall Abdullah al Mamun, also first year student of applied chemistry department and Navid Anjum Tonoy of Geography and Environment department are the three ring leaders of the scam.
Also Read- This is how question papers are leaked
Rana and Mamun were arrested at the university’s Shahidullah Hall with electronic devices which help to cheat in examinations, on October 20 last year. The ruling party’s student front expelled the duo right after their arrest. The students who took advantage from the aforementioned trio have been identified as-- Nafis Iftekhar and Rifat Hossain of political science department, Mohammad Bayezid of psychology, Azizul Hakim of world religion and culture department, Prosenjit Das of sanskrit, Fardin Ahmmed Sabbir of health economics, Tanvir Ahmmed Mollik of economics, Rafsan Karim of Islamic studies, Akhinur Rahman Anik of Bangla, Tanvir Hossain of History, Sujaur Rahman of Institute of Education and Research and Najmul Hasan of Pali and Buddhist Studies. All the 12 students were admitted to the university in 2016-17 sessions by unfair means, confirmed Prof Rabbani. The fate of the students will now be decided by the university syndicate, and the disciplinary body is preparing to forward the recommendation to the highest executive bodies that exercise administrative and supervisory control on academic, administrative and management activities, added Prof Rabbani.