• Friday, Feb 21, 2020
  • Last Update : 01:33 pm

DMP transfers 11 inspectors including 7 OCs

  • Published at 11:39 pm October 1st, 2019
DMP logo
Logo of Dhaka Metropolitan Police

Motijheel OC transferred to Detective Branch (North)

Dhaka Metropolitan Police (DMP) has transferred 11 inspectors, including 7 officers-in-charge (OC) of eight police stations and the Detective Branch of police yesterday.

An official order in this regard, signed by DMP Commissioner Md Shafiqul Islam, was issued yesterday.

These transfers come in light of the recent discovery and crackdown on illegal casinos in Motijheel, Banani,   and Gulistan areas.   

Dhaka Metropolitan Police (DMP) has transferred Motijheel police station OC Md Omar Faruk to Detective Branch (North) and has sent Kalabagan police station OC Yasir Arafat Khan to Motijheel police station.

On September 18, RAB raided at least six illegal casinos in Dhaka city and arrested Khalid Mahmud Bhuiyan, organizing secretary of Jubo League Dhaka (South) city unit who ran one of those establishments.

One of the biggest casinos found till date was in Fakirerpool Youngmen's Club in the capital’s Fakirapool area which falls under the jurisdiction of the Motijheel police station.

This casino was fully furnished with betting tables, slot machines, and roulette tables.

As per the order, Vatara police station OC Md Abu Bakar Siddik has been transferred to the Paltan police station and Airport police station Inspector (investigation) Mokhtauzzaman has been sent to the Vatara police station as OC, while Shyampur police station OC Md Mizanur Rahman to Kotwali police station and Sabujbagh police station Inspector (investigation) Md Mofizur Alam to Shyampur police station as OC.

The Khilkhet police station OC Md Mostafizur Rahman was transferred to Mirpur model police station and Banani police station Inspector (investigation) to Khilkhet police station as OC, while Uttara (East) police station Inspector (investigation) Paitash Chandra was transferred to the Kalabagan police station as OC.

Mirpur model police station OC Md Dadan Fakir transfer was to Detective Branch (South), and Kotwali police station OC Md Shahidur Rahman to Detective Branch (West).

The official order also asked the respective police officials to join their new workplace by October 3, 2019.