• Saturday, Dec 14, 2019
  • Last Update : 07:06 pm

List of five representatives of Ducsu senate submitted

  • Published at 12:15 am June 14th, 2019
File photo of the Ducsu office building on Dhaka University campus Mehedi Hasan/Dhaka Tribune

Ducsu VP alleges Chhatra League partially selected representatives

Ruling party Awami League associated student wing, Bangladesh Chhatra League, has partially selected student representatives to the Dhaka University Central Student Union (Ducsu) panel, Ducsu Vice-President (VP) of Ducsu, Nurul Haque Nur, Nur has claimed.

However, this was done without holding a formal meeting with him, he alleged. 

Sammilita Shikkharthi Parishad, which dominated the Ducsu polls, submitted a list of five names to the Ducsu ex-officio President, Dhaka University Vice-Chancellor, Prof Akhtaruzzaman, without consulting him, Nur demanded.

The list includes: Central Chhatra League President, Rezwanul Haque Chowdhury Shovon – who failed contesting at the Ducsu polls as a vice-president candidate; Chhatra League DU chapter President, Sonjit Chandra Das – who did not contest the poll;  Chhatra League central General Secretary – also Ducsu General Secretary Golam Rabbani;  Ducsu member Tilottama Sikder and Ducsu VP Nurul Haque Nur.

Nur further alleged that Chhatra League representatives at Ducsu did not call a formal meeting on such an important issue; but informed him about it over a phone call, which he rejected. 

However, Ducsu General Secretary Golam Rabbani said they called for an informal meeting to discuss the issue, but Nur was absent from the meeting.

He further said non-elected members could be representatives at the DU senate, as there was no obligation that the DU senate member must be elected. They only included Nur in the list "out of compassion", he said.

However, according to DU order 1973, Article 20 (I), five representatives of the students have to be nominated by the Ducsu; however, there were no clear instructions on how the members would be selected.

The DU senate consists of 105 members, including the VC, two pro-VCs, a treasurer, five government officials, five parliamentarians, five distinguished educationists, five representatives from research bodies, five affiliated college principals, 10 affiliated college teachers, the Dhaka Education Board chairman, 25 representatives from registered graduates, 35 elected teachers, and five representatives from the DUCSU.