• Saturday, Oct 16, 2021
  • Last Update : 05:41 pm

BRTC starts selling Eid tickets, special service from May 27

  • Published at 11:55 pm May 20th, 2019
File photo of homebound people purchasing tickets at a bus terminal in Dhaka ahead of the Eid holidays Dhaka Tribune

The authority will extend the service to May 4 if necessary

Bangladesh Road Transport Corporation (BRTC) started selling advance tickets from Monday. To ensure safe journey for holidaymakers, the authority will launch Eid special service from May 27.

BRTC has also started selling tickets for Eid special double-decker service. Passengers are booking tickets, especially for May 1-3. The authority will extend the service to May 4 if necessary.

BRTC is charging Tk415 for Dhaka to Rajshahi and Naogaon, and Tk470 for Rangpur route.

BRTC Kallyanpur depot ticket counter in-charge, Md Aminul Islam said: "We will be selling bus tickets according to the demand of passengers, and will continue it till the last day. BRTC is the last hope for middle and lower class people."

Kamalapur Depot Traffic Division Associate, Mahfuzur Rahman told the Dhaka Tribune: "We do have enough tickets. We are ready to sell those to passengers according to need."

BRTC started selling advance tickets from various depots, including Motijheel, Joarsahara, Kalayanpur, Gabtoli, Mohammadpur, Mirpur, Jatrabari, Gazipur and Narayanganj, BRTC Chairman Farid Ahmed Bhuiyan said.

"A total of 1,089 buses, including 150 imported ones, will operate as Eid special service from May 27, he added.  

"Of the buses, 649 buses will operate from Dhaka, and 390 from various districts and upazilas," he added.

“We will keep 50 buses in reserve, to face emergency,” Farid said.

Buses will leave for Nagpur, Daudkandi, Bajitpur, Khulna, Dinajpur, and Netrokona districts from Motijheel bus depot.

Buses from BRTC Kalayanpur depot will leave for Rangpur, Panchagar, Kurigram, Gaibandha, Kushtia, Rajshahi, Sherpur, Jamalpur, Netrokona, Nagorpur, Gobindaganj, Ranishangkar, Thakurgaon, and Dinajpur districts.

Buses for Rangpur, Dinajpur, and Thakurgaon districts will also leave from Gabtoli bus depot.

Buses for Bishwa road-Panchdona, Rangpur, Naogaon, Joypurhat, Tangail, Mymensingh, and Bogra will operate from Joarsahara bus depot; Rangpur, Kushtia, Kurigram, Dinajpur, and Naogaon from Mirpur bus depot; and for greater Rangpur, buses will operate from Mohammadpur bus depot of BRTC.

From BRTC’s Gazipur bus depot, buses will leave for Bishwa road-Panchdona, Kishoreganj, Tangail, Jamalpur, Netrakona, Mymensingh, Rangpur, Dinajpur, and Thakurgaon districts. 

Jatrabari bus depot will operate services on Dhaka-Gauripur, Tongi-Mawa, Chittagong and Sylhet routes; Narayanganj bus depot will service Dhaka-Narayanganj, Dhaka-Meghna upazila, Biswa road-Panchdona routes; Narsingdi bus depot will serve Dhaka-Narsingdi and Dhaka-Bhairab routes; while Sylhet bus depot will operate services on Sylhet-Tarakanda routes.

Facebook 54
blogger sharing button blogger
buffer sharing button buffer
diaspora sharing button diaspora
digg sharing button digg
douban sharing button douban
email sharing button email
evernote sharing button evernote
flipboard sharing button flipboard
pocket sharing button getpocket
github sharing button github
gmail sharing button gmail
googlebookmarks sharing button googlebookmarks
hackernews sharing button hackernews
instapaper sharing button instapaper
line sharing button line
linkedin sharing button linkedin
livejournal sharing button livejournal
mailru sharing button mailru
medium sharing button medium
meneame sharing button meneame
messenger sharing button messenger
odnoklassniki sharing button odnoklassniki
pinterest sharing button pinterest
print sharing button print
qzone sharing button qzone
reddit sharing button reddit
refind sharing button refind
renren sharing button renren
skype sharing button skype
snapchat sharing button snapchat
surfingbird sharing button surfingbird
telegram sharing button telegram
tumblr sharing button tumblr
twitter sharing button twitter
vk sharing button vk
wechat sharing button wechat
weibo sharing button weibo
whatsapp sharing button whatsapp
wordpress sharing button wordpress
xing sharing button xing
yahoomail sharing button yahoomail