• Sunday, Aug 25, 2019
  • Last Update : 01:03 pm

Fakhrul: Govt pressuring BNP MPs-elect to take oath

  • Published at 05:00 pm April 26th, 2019
File photo of BNP Secretary General Mirza Fakhrul Islam Alamgir Focus Bangla

Zahidur was elected from Thakurgaon 3 constituency in the 11th general election

The government has been mounting pressure on BNP MPs-elect to make them take oath and be part of the 11th parliament, BNP Secretary General Mirza Fakhrul Islam Alamgir claimed on Friday.

He made the allegation in response to a question raised by the press regarding BNP leader MP Zahidur Rahman's oath taking, at an event in Dhaka's Chandrima Uddan on Friday.

BNP leaders and activists had gone to Chandrima Uddan to pay tribute to party founder Ziaur Rahman at his grave, on the anniversary of Jatiyatabadi Mohila Dal.

Fakhrul said: "There is pressure from the government on the BNP MPs-elect to take oath. Any government that is not elected by the people does such things.

"BNP is a party of the general people. A particular individual or a specific group can do no harm to it," he added

Stating that the party will take strict action against MP Zahidur Rahman, who violated BNP's decision to not take part in the 11th parliament, Fakhrul said: "Zahidur has violated party directives and he will face strict party action. One of the MPs-elect from the party has taken oath, but we do not know what the others are thinking. The party decision of not taking oath is still in effect. There are no second thoughts on this."

When asked whether the government was attempting to create divide in BNP, Fakhrul said: "This is quite normal in Bangladesh. But no one has succeeded when trying this. We have always come back strong and reached the general people of the country.”

Jatiyatabadi Mohila Dal President Afroza Abbas, General Secretary Sultana Ahmed, and Joint General Secretary Helen Zarin Khan were also present during the event, among others.

On Thursday, BNP leader Zahidur Rahman took oath as the member of the 11th parliament from Thakurgaon 3 constituency, violating BNP's decision to stay out of parliament.