• Tuesday, Aug 04, 2020
  • Last Update : 11:25 pm

3 cases filed over Naya Paltan clash

  • Published at 09:44 am November 15th, 2018
BNP police clash at Nayapaltan Mehedi Hasan
Attackers set a police car on fire during the clash between BNP activists and police in Nayapaltan, Dhaka on Wednesday, November 14, 2018 Mehedi Hasan/Dhaka Tribune

At least 30 others were identified through with the help of Closed-circuit television (CCTV) footage

Three cases have been filed over the clash between police and BNP members in Dhaka’s Naya Paltan area.

The cases were filed for attacks on the police and two vehicles being set alight during the clash on Wednesday.

Dhaka Metropolitan Police (DMP) Commissioner Asaduzzaman Mia confirmed the matter to the Dhaka Tribune.

Later in a press briefing on Thursday morning,  he said 60 people were arrested and 30 others were identified through with the help of Closed-circuit television (CCTV) footage.

The Counterterrorism and Transnational Crimes (CTTC) Deputy Commissioner Mohibul Islam Khan urged the public to notify the DMP if they have any information about the Naya Paltan attackers. 

What happened in Naya Paltan?

Previously, on Wednesday, BNP activists set fire to, and vandalized, police vehicles in front of BNP's Naya Paltan headquarters.

Police retaliated by firing teargas canisters and rubber bullets at the hundreds of BNP leaders and activists gathered at the headquarters—while the party was selling nomination forms for the December 30 election.

Also Read- Political peace shattered as BNP activists turn violent in Dhaka

The clashes started when BNP Standing Committee member Mirza Abbas came to purchase his nomination form.

Police and BNP have blamed each other for triggering the clash.

Home minister: Naya Paltan attack aimed at foiling the polls

Home Minister Asaduzzaman Khan Kamal has held BNP responsible for instigating the clashes between the party’s activists and police.

He also said that the reported attack on police and subsequent clash were premeditated— and aimed at foiling the upcoming 11th general election.

What did Awami League say?

In a briefing after the clash, Awami League General Secretary Obaidul Quader accused senior BNP leader Mirza Abbas of leading party members to carry out the attack at Naya Paltan.  

He said BNP carried out the attack to foil the upcoming 11th general election.

The Awami League general secretary said: "They [BNP] are a criminal party. Under the leadership of Mirza Abbas, they launched the attack on the police as part of an attempt to foil the election."

Who is BNP blaming?

BNP has alleged that police attacked its leaders and activists in front of the party headquarters “without any provocation—at the behest of the government.”

"Police, without provocation, opened fire on our brothers. They also lobbed teargas and baton-charged. They attacked the peaceful gathering of our leaders and activists and created chaos," said BNP’s Senior Joint Secretary General Ruhul Kabir Rizvi on Wednesday, reports UNB.

The party’s Secretary General Mirza Fakhrul Islam Alamgir also blamed police for the clash and said it would only hamper the election atmosphere.

blogger sharing button blogger
buffer sharing button buffer
diaspora sharing button diaspora
digg sharing button digg
douban sharing button douban
email sharing button email
evernote sharing button evernote
flipboard sharing button flipboard
pocket sharing button getpocket
github sharing button github
gmail sharing button gmail
googlebookmarks sharing button googlebookmarks
hackernews sharing button hackernews
instapaper sharing button instapaper
line sharing button line
linkedin sharing button linkedin
livejournal sharing button livejournal
mailru sharing button mailru
medium sharing button medium
meneame sharing button meneame
messenger sharing button messenger
odnoklassniki sharing button odnoklassniki
pinterest sharing button pinterest
print sharing button print
qzone sharing button qzone
reddit sharing button reddit
refind sharing button refind
renren sharing button renren
skype sharing button skype
snapchat sharing button snapchat
surfingbird sharing button surfingbird
telegram sharing button telegram
tumblr sharing button tumblr
twitter sharing button twitter
vk sharing button vk
wechat sharing button wechat
weibo sharing button weibo
whatsapp sharing button whatsapp
wordpress sharing button wordpress
xing sharing button xing
yahoomail sharing button yahoomail