• Monday, Nov 29, 2021
  • Last Update : 11:28 am

PMO forgery case: Police file charge sheet against Chhatra League VP, 5 others

  • Published at 11:50 pm September 21st, 2020
Hammer and Gavel

A document with the prime minister’s decision on the three-man Education Ministry shortlist for the post of treasurer at North South University (NSU) was stolen from the PMO, reads the charge sheet

Police have submitted the charge sheet in a case filed against six people, including Bangladesh Chhatra League central committee Vice President Tariqul Islam Mumin, for the forgery of a Prime Minister’s Office (PMO) document.

Police Inspector Mohammad Kamal Uddin, investigation officer of the case, recently submitted the charge sheet to the Dhaka Chief Metropolitan Magistrate’s Court, court sources said

The other accused are North South University (NSU) student Md Farhad Hossain alias Morshad Alam, PMO staffer Fatema Khatun, Md Rubel, Nazim Uddin, and Air Commodore (retd) M Abdus Salam Azad, former treasurer of Bangladesh University of Professionals (BUP).

How was the crime committed?

According to the charge sheet, a document with the prime minister’s decision on the three-man Education Ministry shortlist for the post of treasurer at North South University (NSU) was stolen from the PMO. Subsequently, the decision in the document was illegally altered.

The altered document was then forwarded from the PMO to Bangabhaban for the president’s approval.

The charge sheet also said the Education Ministry shortlist for the NSU treasurer post included Prof M Enamul Haque from NSU, Prof Md Abdur Rouf from BUET, and Air Commodore (retd) M Abdus Salam Azad.

On February 26, the prime minister had selected Prof Enamul Haque for the post and put a tick mark beside his name. The forgers intercepted the document before it could reach the president’s office and put a tick next to Air Commodore (retd) M Abdus Salam Azad’s name and crosses next to the others.

PMO staffer Fatema stole the document and gave it to Farhad in front of PMO gate-4 on March 1, upon the instructions of Chhatra League leader Toriqul. She also received Tk 20,000 by bKash for the job.

The altered document was then submitted to the president’s office for approval on March 3, according to the charge sheet.

Four confessions, so far

IO Mohammad Kamal Uddin said Air Commodore (retd) M Abdus Salam Azad was included in the charge sheet based on statements from the other accused and witnesses.

Of the 6 accused, four have given confessional statements before the magistrate in the case. Fatema confessed to passing the document with the prime minister’s decision for Tk20,000.

The IO gave the names of 11 people as prosecution witnesses in the charge sheet and showed Air Commodore (retd) M Abdus Salam Azad as a fugitive.

On May 5, PMO Director Mohammad Rafiqul Islam filed the case over the incident with Tejgaon police station.

Since filing of the case, law enforcement agencies have arrested Tariqul in Bhola, Farhad in Noakhali, and Nazim Uddin, Fatema and Rubel, in Dhaka.

Facebook 51
blogger sharing button blogger
buffer sharing button buffer
diaspora sharing button diaspora
digg sharing button digg
douban sharing button douban
email sharing button email
evernote sharing button evernote
flipboard sharing button flipboard
pocket sharing button getpocket
github sharing button github
gmail sharing button gmail
googlebookmarks sharing button googlebookmarks
hackernews sharing button hackernews
instapaper sharing button instapaper
line sharing button line
linkedin sharing button linkedin
livejournal sharing button livejournal
mailru sharing button mailru
medium sharing button medium
meneame sharing button meneame
messenger sharing button messenger
odnoklassniki sharing button odnoklassniki
pinterest sharing button pinterest
print sharing button print
qzone sharing button qzone
reddit sharing button reddit
refind sharing button refind
renren sharing button renren
skype sharing button skype
snapchat sharing button snapchat
surfingbird sharing button surfingbird
telegram sharing button telegram
tumblr sharing button tumblr
twitter sharing button twitter
vk sharing button vk
wechat sharing button wechat
weibo sharing button weibo
whatsapp sharing button whatsapp
wordpress sharing button wordpress
xing sharing button xing
yahoomail sharing button yahoomail