• Wednesday, Feb 26, 2020
  • Last Update : 08:03 pm

9 additional HC judges were sworn in

  • Published at 02:21 pm October 21st, 2019
High Court-HC-court
File photo of the High Court building Dhaka Tribune

Pro BNP lawyer claims : Their appointment is a reward for giving punishment to Khaleda-Tarique 

Nine new judges in the High Court division of the Supreme Court were sworn in.

Chief Justice Syed Mahmud Hossain administered the oath of office at the Supreme Court Judges’ Lounge around in the early hours of yesterday.  

The nine judges are District and Session Judges Muhammad Mahbub-ul-Islam, Shahed Nuruddin and Md Akhtaruzzaman,  Supreme Court (SC) Registrar General Dr Md Zakir Hossain, Advocates Md Mahmud Hasan Talukder, Kazi Ebadat Hossain, AKM Zahirul Haque, Deputy Attorney Generals KM Zahid Sarwar, and Kazi Zinat Hoque.

Earlier, President Md Abdul Hamid appointed the nine additional judges for the next two years, after which the Law Ministry on Sunday issued a gazette notification regarding their appointment.

Meanwhile, Supreme Court Bar Association's secretary and BNP's Joint Secretary Barrister AM Mahbub Uddin Khokon alleged that Shahed Nuruddin and Md Akhtaruzzaman have only been rewarded because of their sentencing of Khaleda Zia and her son Tareque.

Md Akhtaruzzaman announced the punishment to Khaleda Zia in an Anti Corruption Case while he was a lower court judge. On the other hand, Shahed Nuruddin pronounced punishment for Tarique Rahman.