• Sunday, Aug 09, 2020
  • Last Update : 03:12 am

Attack on Sheikh Hasina's train: 43 convicts file appeal with HC

  • Published at 04:59 pm July 21st, 2019
File photo: Accused BNP leaders in a case filed an armed attack on a train carrying Awami League President Sheikh Hasina 25 years ago gets in the police van Dhaka Tribune

A local court in Pabna on July 3 sentenced nine BNP leaders and its affiliates to death in a case filed over the 1994 train attack – nearly 25 years after the incident took place

A total of 43 people, including the eight facing death sentences in a case filed over the 1994 attack on a train carrying the then opposition leader Sheikh Hasina, has filed an appeal to the High Court against a local court order.

Lawyer Kaiser Kamal, who stood on behalf of them, filed the appeal with the High Court bench concerned.

Among them, eight are facing the death sentence, 22 life in prison and 13 were sentenced with 10 years in prison.

A local court in Pabna on July 3 sentenced nine BNP leaders and its affiliates to death in a case filed over the 1994 train attack – nearly 25 years after the incident took place.

Also Read- 1994 attack on Hasina: Bail plea of 28 Pabna BNP men rejected

The court sentenced 25 other BNP leaders and activists to life in prison, and fined each of them Tk3 lakh, with an additional two years in jail for defaulting the fine payment.

Thirteen more convicts were sentenced to 10 years in prison, and charged Tk1 lakh fine each, with an additional one-year imprisonment for defaulting on the payment.

A total of 40 convicts are in jail, seven convicts are still absconding, with five having died during trial..

What happened?

According to the case details, on September 23, 1994, a group of members of BNP and its affiliate organizations attacked a train carrying the entourage of then opposition leader Sheikh Hasina when it was entering Ishwardi railway junction.

Sheikh Hasina was travelling from Khulna to Syedpur through Ishwardi for party programs.

The assailants hurled crude bombs at the train and opened fire at it.

Nazrul Islam, the then OC of Ishwardi railway police, filed a case against seven people after the attack.

Also Read- Fakhrul: Pabna court verdict against BNP men dictated one

After the Awami League came to power in 1996, a fresh investigation on the attack was conducted, and 52 people were accused in the new report. 

Police submitted the charge sheet against the accused in April 1997. However, the court did not accept the charge sheet and transferred the case to the Criminal Investigation Department (CID) for further investigation. The CID submitted another charge sheet before the court. 

Based on the CID charges, the court on Sunday, June 30, 2019, sent 30 accused to jail by rejecting their bail. On Tuesday, two other accused, Mokhlesur Rahman Bablu and Abdul Hakim Tenu, surrendered before the court. Police arrested another accused on the same night. 

Pabna Public Prosecutor Advocate Aktaruzzaman Mukta along with Advocate Golam Hasnain represented the state during the trial, while Advocate Nurul Islam and Advocate Sanath Kumar Sarker stood for the accused.

blogger sharing button blogger
buffer sharing button buffer
diaspora sharing button diaspora
digg sharing button digg
douban sharing button douban
email sharing button email
evernote sharing button evernote
flipboard sharing button flipboard
pocket sharing button getpocket
github sharing button github
gmail sharing button gmail
googlebookmarks sharing button googlebookmarks
hackernews sharing button hackernews
instapaper sharing button instapaper
line sharing button line
linkedin sharing button linkedin
livejournal sharing button livejournal
mailru sharing button mailru
medium sharing button medium
meneame sharing button meneame
messenger sharing button messenger
odnoklassniki sharing button odnoklassniki
pinterest sharing button pinterest
print sharing button print
qzone sharing button qzone
reddit sharing button reddit
refind sharing button refind
renren sharing button renren
skype sharing button skype
snapchat sharing button snapchat
surfingbird sharing button surfingbird
telegram sharing button telegram
tumblr sharing button tumblr
twitter sharing button twitter
vk sharing button vk
wechat sharing button wechat
weibo sharing button weibo
whatsapp sharing button whatsapp
wordpress sharing button wordpress
xing sharing button xing
yahoomail sharing button yahoomail