• Sunday, Apr 18, 2021
  • Last Update : 07:27 pm

Attack on Sheikh Hasina's train: 8 more fugitive convicts surrender

  • Published at 12:36 am July 15th, 2019
File photo: Accused BNP leaders in a case filed an armed attack on a train carrying Awami League President Sheikh Hasina 25 years ago gets in the police van Dhaka Tribune

Earlier on July 3, a Pabna court sentenced nine BNP leaders and its affiliates to death in the case

Eight more convicts have surrendered before a court in Pabna in a case filed over the attack on the train carrying then opposition leader Sheikh Hasina in 1994.

Pabna Additional District and Sessions Judge Md Rustom Ali, also acting judge of Pabna Special Tribunal-3, sent them to jail denying their bail petition on Sunday.

Of the convicts who surrendered, five were sentenced to life imprisonment, while the other three were jailed for 10 years.

With this, a total of 40 convicts landed in jail in the case. However, seven other convicts are still absconding, with five dying during trial.

Earlier on July 3, the same Pabna court sentenced nine BNP leaders and its affiliates to death in the case.

The death row convicts were also charged a fine of Tk5 lakh each.

Also Read- 1994 attack on Sheikh Hasina: 9 BNP men sentenced to death

The court sentenced 25 other BNP leaders and activists to life in prison, and fined each of them Tk3 lakh, with an additional two years in jail in the event they are unable to pay the fine.

Thirteen more convicts were sentenced to 10 years in prison and fined Tk1 lakh each, with an additional one-year imprisonment in the event they are unable to pay the fine.

Out of 52 people accused in the charge sheet, 33 were present during the verdict at the court on Wednesday. 

All the convicts were activists and leaders of BNP, its youth wing Jatiyatabadi Juba Dal, and student front Jatiyatabadi Chhatra Dal, based in Pabna’s Ishwardi upazila when the attack took place.    

What happened?

According to the case details, on September 23, 1994, a group of members of BNP and its affiliate organizations attacked a train carrying the entourage of Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina when it was entering Ishwardi railway junction.

Hasina, who was the leader of the opposition then, was travelling from Khulna to Syedpur through Ishwardi for party programs.

The assailants hurled crude bombs at the train and opened fire at it.

Nazrul Islam, the then OC of Ishwardi railway police, filed a case against seven people after the attack.

After the Awami League came to power in 1996, a fresh investigation on the attack was conducted, and 52 people were accused in the new report. 

Police submitted the charge sheet against the accused in April 1997. However, the court did not accept the charge sheet and transferred the case to the Criminal Investigation Department (CID) for further investigation. The CID submitted another charge sheet before the court.

Facebook 63
blogger sharing button blogger
buffer sharing button buffer
diaspora sharing button diaspora
digg sharing button digg
douban sharing button douban
email sharing button email
evernote sharing button evernote
flipboard sharing button flipboard
pocket sharing button getpocket
github sharing button github
gmail sharing button gmail
googlebookmarks sharing button googlebookmarks
hackernews sharing button hackernews
instapaper sharing button instapaper
line sharing button line
linkedin sharing button linkedin
livejournal sharing button livejournal
mailru sharing button mailru
medium sharing button medium
meneame sharing button meneame
messenger sharing button messenger
odnoklassniki sharing button odnoklassniki
pinterest sharing button pinterest
print sharing button print
qzone sharing button qzone
reddit sharing button reddit
refind sharing button refind
renren sharing button renren
skype sharing button skype
snapchat sharing button snapchat
surfingbird sharing button surfingbird
telegram sharing button telegram
tumblr sharing button tumblr
twitter sharing button twitter
vk sharing button vk
wechat sharing button wechat
weibo sharing button weibo
whatsapp sharing button whatsapp
wordpress sharing button wordpress
xing sharing button xing
yahoomail sharing button yahoomail