• Thursday, May 13, 2021
  • Last Update : 01:20 am

9 Chhatra League men remanded for assaulting police

  • Published at 01:22 am January 24th, 2019
web-verdict-the court-law-judge
Representational Photo: Bigstock

Seven more have been sent to jail on fraud and embezzlement charges

A Dhaka court has placed nine members of Bangladesh Chhatra League, including a city unit president, on remand for a day on charges of assaulting police officials.

Dhaka Metropolitan Magistrate Sadbir Yasin Ahsan Chowdhury issued the order on Wednesday after hearing a remand petition filed by police.

The accused are: Chhatra League’s Paltan unit President Sheikh Nazmul Hossain Mirun, and activists Wahidul Islam, Arif, Sheikh Rahim, Russell, Shah Alam Chanchal, Arif Hossain, Kawsar Ahmed Saif and Moazzem.

Sub-Inspector Jahangir Hossain of Paltan police station, who is the investigation officer in the case, filed the petition with the court, seeking seven days’ remand for the accused.

The defence counsels filed a bail petition, but the court dismissed it.

According to the case statement, the accused went to the office of Biswas Trade International in Paltan, Dhaka on Tuesday to collect extortion money.

Failing to realize the money, the Chhatra League men vandalized the office. When police went to the spot and intervened, they assaulted the policemen as well.

Later, police arrested 16 people from the spot.

Two cases – one on fraud and embezzlement charges, and another on assault charges – were filed with Paltan police station on Tuesday night.

However, speaking to reporters, defence counsel Abdur Rahman Howlader said there had been no case of extortion.

“The accused owed money to the complainant, Aslam Ahsan Tushar, and there was a heated argument between them. Police went to the spot, and without finding out what was going on, swooped on the Chhatra League men,” the lawyer said.

The court rejected the remand petition for seven other Chhatra League men who were arrested on charge of fraud and embezzlement, and sent them to jail.

They are: BM Aslam Hossain Tuhin, Mehedi Hossain, Jewel, Shariful Islam, Sohel Talukder, Samrat, and Shakhawat Hossain.

The court will hear their bail petition on Thursday.

Facebook 51
blogger sharing button blogger
buffer sharing button buffer
diaspora sharing button diaspora
digg sharing button digg
douban sharing button douban
email sharing button email
evernote sharing button evernote
flipboard sharing button flipboard
pocket sharing button getpocket
github sharing button github
gmail sharing button gmail
googlebookmarks sharing button googlebookmarks
hackernews sharing button hackernews
instapaper sharing button instapaper
line sharing button line
linkedin sharing button linkedin
livejournal sharing button livejournal
mailru sharing button mailru
medium sharing button medium
meneame sharing button meneame
messenger sharing button messenger
odnoklassniki sharing button odnoklassniki
pinterest sharing button pinterest
print sharing button print
qzone sharing button qzone
reddit sharing button reddit
refind sharing button refind
renren sharing button renren
skype sharing button skype
snapchat sharing button snapchat
surfingbird sharing button surfingbird
telegram sharing button telegram
tumblr sharing button tumblr
twitter sharing button twitter
vk sharing button vk
wechat sharing button wechat
weibo sharing button weibo
whatsapp sharing button whatsapp
wordpress sharing button wordpress
xing sharing button xing
yahoomail sharing button yahoomail