• Friday, Feb 21, 2020
  • Last Update : 01:14 am

SC upholds HC order disqualifying 9 candidates from contesting polls

  • Published at 05:52 pm December 24th, 2018
High Court-HC-court
File photo of the Bangladesh Supreme Court Dhaka Tribune

The order ensures that eight BNP leaders will not be able to run for office this time

The Supreme Court has upheld a High Court order that stayed the Election Commission's decision allowing nine candidates, including eight from BNP, to contest the upcoming 11th parliamentary election.

Appellate Division Chamber Judge Justice Md Nuruzzamanon Monday passed "no order" on separate writ petitions filed by the candidates seeking stay on the High Court order, reports UNB.

Advocate Shah Manjurul Haq, lawyer for the petitioner, said the candidates would not be able to contest the polls following the latest order.

The eight BNP candidates are– KhandakerAbu Ashfaq from Dhaka 1 constituency, Tamij Uddin from Dhaka 20, Fazlur Rahman from Joypurhat 1, MA Majid from Jhenaidah 2, Abu Sayeed Chand from Rajshahi 6, Faridul KabirTalukder Shamim from Jamalpu r4, and Moslem Uddin from Brahmanbaria 4.

The ninth candidate is Mahmud Hasan Suman who is running independently from Mymensingh 1.

Last Thursday, the High Court had stayed the Election Commission’s decision that allowed them to contest in the election, slated for December 30.

Following separate writ petitions, the court had earlier stayed the commission's decision as the candidates’ resignations from their public offices were not accepted by the government.