• Saturday, Apr 20, 2019
  • Last Update : 01:18 am

Ex-Jamaat MP, 5 others to die for war crimes in Gaibandha

  • Published at 12:27 pm November 22nd, 2017
  • Last updated at 01:13 am November 23rd, 2017
Ex-Jamaat MP, 5 others to die for war crimes in Gaibandha
A special tribunal has sentenced six people to death including former Jamaat lawmaker Md Abdul Aziz for committing crimes against humanity in Gaibandha during the 1971 Liberation War. A three-member tribunal led by Justice Md Shahinur Islam passed the order on Wednesday. The convicted razakars are Md Abdul Aziz alias Ghoramara Aziz, Md Ruhul Amin alias Monju, Md Abdul Latif, Abu Muslim Mohammad Ali, Md Nazmul Huda, and Md Abdur Rahim Miah.
Also Read - Who is this ‘Ghoramara’ Aziz?
Only Latif was present at the tribunal during the verdict as the rest are still absconding. On May 9, the tribunal kept the verdict pending for any day, after hearing arguments from both sides. On October 12, the reconstructed tribunal set October 22 for placing further arguments in the crimes against humanity case against the six alleged razakars. The tribunal 1 started the trial on June 28, 2016 after indicting the accused on three charges of killing and looting during the war of independence.