• Sunday, Nov 17, 2019
  • Last Update : 11:13 am

SC upholds bar on MPs in school committees

  • Published at 08:36 pm June 12th, 2016

A four-member bench of the Appellate Division headed by Chief Justice Surendra Kumar Sinha passed “no order” on two petitions seeking a stay on the High Court verdict. The petitions were filed by the principal of Viqarunnisa Noon School and College and its government body chairman Rashed Khan Menon. After the apex court order, the petitioner of the original plea, Supreme Court lawyer Eunus Ali Akond, told the Dhaka Tribune the High Court order would remain in force until the Supreme Court’s further order on this issue. The Supreme Court also upheld the High Court order that had scrapped the special governing body of Viqarunnisa Noon School and College in Dhaka led by Civil Aviation and Tourism Minister Rashed Khan Menon. The High Court in its verdict on June 1 said that a lawmaker can become the chairman through election of maximum four educational institutions. The verdict was delivered after hearing two separate writ petitions filed by Akond. The writ petitions challenged legality of Sections 5 and 50 of Non-government School College Governing Body Regulation 2009 which permitted formation of special governing bodies in educational institutions and the lawmakers to hold the posts of chairman. The High Court had declared the two sections of the regulation illegal and unconstitutional as they are against the constitution. Now, the Viqarunnisa principal and Menon can move file leave to appeal petitions before the Supreme Court against its verdict after the full text is released.