• Sunday, Jan 26, 2020
  • Last Update : 07:52 pm

ACC imposes travel ban on 11 people

  • Published at 05:44 pm October 30th, 2019
Anti Corruption Commission
File photo of the Anti Corruption Commission building Mehedi Hasan/Dhaka Tribune

These individuals are accused of being involved with illegal casino business

The Anti-Corruption Commission (ACC) has imposed travel ban on 11 people, including six executive engineers of the Public Works Department.

A letter signed by ACC Director Syed Iqbal Hossain was sent to the Special Branch (SB) of police, Department of Immigration, in this regard on Wednesday.

An ACC inquiry team has found evidence that these individuals have gathered illegal wealth through the means of illicit casino business.

The letter stated that the accused attempted to leave Bangladesh, and therefore the authorities concerned has been asked to take effective measures to prevent them from fleeing.

ACC Director Iqbal said: “The travel ban was imposed based on primary evidence of their involvement in money laundering, and because they are trying to flee the country.”

The accused are - Public Works Department Additional Chief Engineer Utpal Kumar Dey, Executive Engineers Swapan Chakma, Mohammad Showkat Ullah, Mohammad Fazlul Haque, Abdul Quader Chowdhury, Md Afsar Uddin, Md Elias Ahmed, Engineer Abdul Momen Chowdhury, Md Rokan Uddin, Senior Assistant Engineer Mumitur Rahman and Officer Sajjadul Islam.

Many more will come under the ban in the next few days, ACC sources said.

Earlier on October 23, the ACC imposed a travel ban on 22 people, mostly Awami League leaders.