• Thursday, Sep 16, 2021
  • Last Update : 05:01 pm

Big push for mass rapid transit system to ease Dhaka traffic woes

  • Published at 05:57 pm July 16th, 2021
Metro rail
Recent photo of the under-construction Mass Rapid Transit (MRT) project, commonly known as metro rail project, in Dhaka Syed Zakir Hossain/Dhaka Tribune

The overall average progress of the modern public transport system is 61.49% as of March 2021

The government is making progress in developing the Dhaka Mass Rapid Transit (MRT) lines aimed at easing the traffic congestion in the capital city and its surrounding areas, according to official sources.MRT is a new metro rail system being developed by the Dhaka Mass Transit Company (DMTC) in Dhaka. The public transport system is expected to boost the economic and social development of the greater Dhaka area, known for long hours of traffic snarls that cause economic loss and pollution.

There has been a push in completing the detailed design of the 39-87-km MIT Line-1, known as Airport Rail Link stretching from Gazipur to Kamalapur rail station. Authorities expect to start the line by 2026.  

This route will have stations in Gazipur, Signboard, Boardbazar, National University, Tongi, Abdullahpur, Uttara, Airport, Airport T3, Khilkhet, Jamuna Future Park, Baridhara, North Badda, South Badda, Merul, Rampura, Khilgaon, Malibagh, Rajarbagh and Kamalapur Railway Station with the depot in Rupganj.

The sources said the basic design of Line-5 (Northern Route) is under way, while a feasibility study forLine-5 (Southern Route) will be done soon.

Also Read - How much will it cost to ride the Dhaka metro rail?

The 40-km MRT 5 (Northern Route), which is expected to commence within 2028, is from Savar Cantonment to Jalshiri Housing.

Stations on this route are: Savar Cantonment, Savar Golf Course, Jahanginagar University, Radio Colony, Savar City Center, Banktown, Hemayetpur, Modhumoti Housing, Aminbazar, Gabtoli, Darus Salam, Mirpur-1, Mirpur-10, Mirpur-14, Cantonment, Banani, Gulshan-2, Baridhara, Madani Avenue, United City and Jalshiri Housing with the depot in Hemayetpur.

The 17.4-km Line-5 (Southern Route), which is expected to commence within 2027, stretches from Gabtoli to Dasherkandi.

Stations for this route are: Gabtoli, Technical, Kallyanpur, Shyamoli, College Gate, Asad Gate, Russell Square, West Panthapath, Bashundhara City/Pan Pacific Sonargaon Hotel, Hatirjheel(FDC), Modhubagh, Niketon, Aftabnagar West, Aftabnagar Center, Aftabnagar East and Dasherkandi with the depot in Dasherkandi.

The MRT lines are being developed under an Action Plan 2030 launched by the government. It aims to a strong network of 128.741km (67.569km elevated and 61.172km underground) with 140 stations (51 surface and 53 underground) under the Dhaka Mass Transit Company Limited (DMTCL) comprising six metro rail lines.

The construction of the first ever metro rail system (MRT Line-6) is going on in full swing from Uttara 3rd phase to Motijheel.

Also Read - Bangladesh transits to era of electric trains

This will be 20.10km long with 16 stations and capable of transporting 60,000 passengers per hour through fast, safe, reliable and eco –friendly system.

The overall average progress of this remotely controlled modern public transport system is 61.49% as of March 2021.

Passenger transport to start by 2022

According to an official document, activities are underway through DMTCL to start passenger transport in Uttara-Agargaon section of MRT Line-6 by December 2022.

The design and land acquisition activities are underway to extend MRT Line-6 from Motijheel to Kamalapur by 1.16km as per the directives of the prime minister.

It said that the government is working to build a modern and sustainable highway network.

In tandem with this, implementation of road safety measures, introduction of high-speed public transport system (MRT and BRT) to reduce traffic congestion in Dhaka metropolis and modernization of motor vehicle management is underway.

Also Read - In pictures: Metro Rail - A dream made reality

In the last 12 years, the government has implemented 331 road development projects and adopted 452 new projects.

During this period, a total of 453.07km of national highways has been upgraded to 4-lane and above.

These include Bangladesh's first Dhaka-Mawa-Bhanga Expressway and 4-lane Dhaka-Chittagong National Highway, Dhaka-Mymensingh National Highway and Nabinagar-Chandra Highway.

At present, work is underway to upgrade the Elenga-Hatikumrul-Rangpur Highway, the Dhaka-Sylhet Highway, the Chittagong-Cox's Bazar Highway, etc. to four lanes.

The construction work of Itna-Mitamain-Ashtagram highway project of Kishoreganj district was inaugurated by the Prime Minister in October 2020.

To continue with the momentum of development, 26 large projects are being implemented by the Road Transport and Highways Division, the document added.

Facebook 61
blogger sharing button blogger
buffer sharing button buffer
diaspora sharing button diaspora
digg sharing button digg
douban sharing button douban
email sharing button email
evernote sharing button evernote
flipboard sharing button flipboard
pocket sharing button getpocket
github sharing button github
gmail sharing button gmail
googlebookmarks sharing button googlebookmarks
hackernews sharing button hackernews
instapaper sharing button instapaper
line sharing button line
linkedin sharing button linkedin
livejournal sharing button livejournal
mailru sharing button mailru
medium sharing button medium
meneame sharing button meneame
messenger sharing button messenger
odnoklassniki sharing button odnoklassniki
pinterest sharing button pinterest
print sharing button print
qzone sharing button qzone
reddit sharing button reddit
refind sharing button refind
renren sharing button renren
skype sharing button skype
snapchat sharing button snapchat
surfingbird sharing button surfingbird
telegram sharing button telegram
tumblr sharing button tumblr
twitter sharing button twitter
vk sharing button vk
wechat sharing button wechat
weibo sharing button weibo
whatsapp sharing button whatsapp
wordpress sharing button wordpress
xing sharing button xing
yahoomail sharing button yahoomail