• Tuesday, Oct 19, 2021
  • Last Update : 12:12 am

Bangladesh to host V20 Climate Vulnerables Finance Summit in July

  • Published at 12:15 pm June 15th, 2021
Climate change

The summit will be chaired by Finance Minister AHM Mustafa Kamal

The government of Bangladesh has announced it will host the first ever virtual V20 Climate Vulnerables Finance Summit on July 8.

The summit will feature Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina, heads of state from Climate Vulnerable Forum member countries, and V20 or the 20 most vulnerable countries' finance ministers, to mobilize significantly more robust economic and finance responses to the spiralling dual crisis that increasingly affects the world's most vulnerable economies.    

In close cooperation with the United Nations, the IMF (International Monetary Fund) and key development partners, the high-level dialogue will shape globally cooperative responses to ensure fast-tracked resilience building efforts to overcome the new realities of tandem climate and Covid pressures through bold new actions and partnerships. 

The summit will be chaired by AHM Mustafa Kamal, finance minister of Bangladesh, and co-hosted with the Global Center on Adaptation, said an announcement made on Monday.  

The government of Bangladesh is currently chair of the Climate Vulnerable Forum and the V20 Group of Finance Ministers. 

After the summit, the V20 will issue a communique highlighting expectations on the upcoming UNFCCC COP26 and global climate finance. 

Formed in 2015, the V20 Group of Finance Ministers is a dedicated cooperation initiative of economies systematically vulnerable to climate change. It is currently chaired by the People's Republic of Bangladesh. 

The V20 membership stands at 48 economies including Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Barbados, Bhutan, Burkina Faso, Cambodia, Colombia, Comoros, Costa Rica, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Dominican Republic, Ethiopia, Fiji, The Gambia, Ghana, Grenada, Guatemala, Haiti, Honduras, Kenya, Kiribati, Lebanon, Madagascar, Malawi, Maldives, Marshall Islands, Mongolia, Morocco, Nepal, Niger, Palau, Palestine, Papua New Guinea, Philippines, Rwanda, Saint Lucia, Samoa, Senegal, South Sudan, Sri Lanka, Sudan, Tanzania, Timor-Leste, Tunisia, Tuvalu, Vanuatu, Vietnam, and Yemen.

Facebook 51
blogger sharing button blogger
buffer sharing button buffer
diaspora sharing button diaspora
digg sharing button digg
douban sharing button douban
email sharing button email
evernote sharing button evernote
flipboard sharing button flipboard
pocket sharing button getpocket
github sharing button github
gmail sharing button gmail
googlebookmarks sharing button googlebookmarks
hackernews sharing button hackernews
instapaper sharing button instapaper
line sharing button line
linkedin sharing button linkedin
livejournal sharing button livejournal
mailru sharing button mailru
medium sharing button medium
meneame sharing button meneame
messenger sharing button messenger
odnoklassniki sharing button odnoklassniki
pinterest sharing button pinterest
print sharing button print
qzone sharing button qzone
reddit sharing button reddit
refind sharing button refind
renren sharing button renren
skype sharing button skype
snapchat sharing button snapchat
surfingbird sharing button surfingbird
telegram sharing button telegram
tumblr sharing button tumblr
twitter sharing button twitter
vk sharing button vk
wechat sharing button wechat
weibo sharing button weibo
whatsapp sharing button whatsapp
wordpress sharing button wordpress
xing sharing button xing
yahoomail sharing button yahoomail