• Saturday, Oct 16, 2021
  • Last Update : 03:47 pm

India honours Bangabandhu with Gandhi Peace Prize

  • Published at 05:55 pm March 22nd, 2021
Bangabandhu shekh mujibur rahman
Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujibur Rahman Photo courtesy: Rafiqur Rahman

Modi has said Bangabandhu was a champion of human rights and freedom, and is a hero to Indians as well

The Indian government on Monday conferred the Gandhi Peace Prize 2020 on Father of the Nation Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujibur Rahman.

Gandhi Peace Prize is an annual award instituted by the Government of India since 1995, the 125th birth anniversary commemoration year of Mahatma Gandhi.

The award is given to individuals and institutions for their contribution towards social, economic and political transformation through non-violence and other Gandhian methods.

The Jury met on March 19 and after due deliberations, unanimously decided to select Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujibur Rahman as the recipient of the Gandhi Peace Prize for the year 2020.

The Gandhi Peace Prize recognizes the immense and unparalleled contribution of Bangabandhu in inspiring the liberation of Bangladesh, bringing stability to a nation born out of strife, laying the foundation for the close and fraternal relations between India and Bangladesh, and promoting peace and non-violence in the Indian subcontinent.

The Jury for Gandhi Peace Prize is chaired by Prime Minister Narendra Modi and comprises of two ex-officio members, namely the chief justice of India and leader of the single largest opposition party in Lok Sabha, according to Press Information Bureau of India.

Two eminent members are also part of the Jury, namely Om Birla, speaker of the Lok Sabha, and Shri Bindeshwar Pathak, founder of Sulabh International Social Service Organization.

The past awardees include luminaries like Dr Julius Nyerere, former president of Tanzania; Dr Gerhard Fischer, federal republic of Germany; Ramakrishna Mission; Baba Amte (Shri MurlidharDevidasAmte); Late Dr Nelson Mandela, former president of South Africa; Grameen Bank of Bangladesh; Archbishop Desmond Tutu of South Africa; Shri Chandi Prasad Bhatt & Indian Space Research Organization. 

Recent awardees include Vivekananda Kendra, India (2015); Akshaya Patra Foundation, India and Sulabh International (Jointly, for 2016); Ekal Abhiyan Trust, India (2017) and Shri Yohei Sasakawa, Japan (2018).

The award carries an amount of Rs1 crore, a citation, a plaque and an exquisite traditional handicraft/ handloom item.

Modi has said that Bangabandhu was a champion of human rights and freedom, and is a hero to Indians as well.

He also said that the legacy and inspiration of Bangabandhu has made the heritage of both countries more comprehensive and deep-rooted, and that the path shown by Bangabandhu has laid a strong foundation for the partnership, progress and prosperity of both countries over the last decade.

As Bangladesh celebrates Mujib Year, India said it is honoured to be commemorating his legacy jointly with Bangladesh's government and its people.

Facebook 51
blogger sharing button blogger
buffer sharing button buffer
diaspora sharing button diaspora
digg sharing button digg
douban sharing button douban
email sharing button email
evernote sharing button evernote
flipboard sharing button flipboard
pocket sharing button getpocket
github sharing button github
gmail sharing button gmail
googlebookmarks sharing button googlebookmarks
hackernews sharing button hackernews
instapaper sharing button instapaper
line sharing button line
linkedin sharing button linkedin
livejournal sharing button livejournal
mailru sharing button mailru
medium sharing button medium
meneame sharing button meneame
messenger sharing button messenger
odnoklassniki sharing button odnoklassniki
pinterest sharing button pinterest
print sharing button print
qzone sharing button qzone
reddit sharing button reddit
refind sharing button refind
renren sharing button renren
skype sharing button skype
snapchat sharing button snapchat
surfingbird sharing button surfingbird
telegram sharing button telegram
tumblr sharing button tumblr
twitter sharing button twitter
vk sharing button vk
wechat sharing button wechat
weibo sharing button weibo
whatsapp sharing button whatsapp
wordpress sharing button wordpress
xing sharing button xing
yahoomail sharing button yahoomail