• Thursday, Nov 26, 2020
  • Last Update : 01:34 am

PM hands over Independence Award 2020

  • Published at 11:33 am October 29th, 2020
Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina
Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina addresses the 2020 edition of the Independence Award, the highest civilian honour in Bangladesh, held at the Osmani Memorial Auditorium in Dhaka on Thursday, October 29, 2020. The prime minister attended the event via videoconference Focus Bangla

Eight personalities and one organization received the award

Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina handed over “Swadhinata Purashkar 2020” (Independence Award 2020), the highest national award, to eight distinguished persons including two posthumously and an educational institute.

The premier attended the award giving ceremony virtually from her official residence Ganabhaban on Thursday.

On behalf of the prime minister, Liberation War Affairs Minister AKM Mozammel Haque handed over the Independence Award 2020 to the recipients in recognition of their glorious and outstanding contribution to their respective fields.

The Cabinet Division organized the function from the Osmani Memorial Auditorium on Thursday morning. 

Cabinet Secretary Khandker Anwarul Islam moderated the function and read out the citations with brief life sketch of the recipients.

The recipients are: Jute and Textiles Minister Golam Dastagir Gazi, MP, and Azizur Rahman for Independence and Liberation War, one of the key Liberation War organizers Commander Abdur Rouf (posthumous), martyred intellectual Md Anwar Pasha (posthumous), Professor Dr Md Obaidul Kabir Chowdhury and Prof Dr AKMA Muktadir for medical science, Kalipada Das and actress Ferdousi Mazumdar for culture and Bharateswari Homes, a boarding school for girls in Tangail, for education.

Of the recipients, Azizur Rahman had recently died of Covid-19.

Prof Dr AKMA Muktadir on behalf of the awardees expressed his feeling on receipt of the highest civilian award. Each award recipient was awarded with a gold medal weighing 50 grams of gold of 18 karat, a certificate and Tk500,000.

Since 1977, Bangladesh has honoured individuals and institutions with the award every year ahead of Independence Day on March 26.

blogger sharing button blogger
buffer sharing button buffer
diaspora sharing button diaspora
digg sharing button digg
douban sharing button douban
email sharing button email
evernote sharing button evernote
flipboard sharing button flipboard
pocket sharing button getpocket
github sharing button github
gmail sharing button gmail
googlebookmarks sharing button googlebookmarks
hackernews sharing button hackernews
instapaper sharing button instapaper
line sharing button line
linkedin sharing button linkedin
livejournal sharing button livejournal
mailru sharing button mailru
medium sharing button medium
meneame sharing button meneame
messenger sharing button messenger
odnoklassniki sharing button odnoklassniki
pinterest sharing button pinterest
print sharing button print
qzone sharing button qzone
reddit sharing button reddit
refind sharing button refind
renren sharing button renren
skype sharing button skype
snapchat sharing button snapchat
surfingbird sharing button surfingbird
telegram sharing button telegram
tumblr sharing button tumblr
twitter sharing button twitter
vk sharing button vk
wechat sharing button wechat
weibo sharing button weibo
whatsapp sharing button whatsapp
wordpress sharing button wordpress
xing sharing button xing
yahoomail sharing button yahoomail