• Monday, Sep 21, 2020
  • Last Update : 09:13 pm

24 parties have no issues with polls under AL govt

  • Published at 09:25 pm November 7th, 2018
Focus Bangla
Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina speaks during a dialogue with leaders of 24 unregistered parties, at Ganabhaban on Wednesday, November 7, 2018 Focus Bangla

The prime minister urges all political parties to work together for Bangladesh’s development

24 unregistered political parties have expressed their support for holding the next general election under the Awami League-led government, as per constitution.

The parties expressed their support at a dialogue with the Awami League-led 14-party alliance at Ganabhaban, the official residence of Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina, on Wednesday.  

The dialogue began around 7:30pm, and ended at 10:15pm.

The leaders of the 24 parties submitted 7-point demands to Prime Minister and Awami League President Sheikh Hasina.

After the dialogue, Trinomul BNP leader Nazmul Huda, a former leader of BNP, said the election must be held under an elected government, as a government that was not elected has no responsibility to the people and country.

Awami League General Secretary Obaidul Quader said there was no example of a prime minister attending dialogues as Sheikh Hasina had in the history of politics.

Leaders of 24 unregistered political parties during a dialogue at the prime minister's official residence Ganabhaban on Wednesday, November 7, 2018 | Focus Bangla

He added that the prime minister’s press briefing on the dialogues, originally scheduled for Thursday, had been postponed so it would not conflict with the election schedule announcement.

Earlier, welcoming the leaders of the political parties at the talks, Sheikh Hasina said: “Awami League will not regret if it fails to form the government again.”

She further said: “It does not matter who comes to power next, we just want the course of development in Bangladesh to continue.”

The prime minister, however, added: “Awami League was able to solve the maritime boundary disputes, and the land boundary conflicts in a friendly manner.”

She also urged all parties to work together for the country’s development.

The parties who were at dialogue are– National Democratic Alliance, Bangladesh National Alliance, Bangladesh Social Development Party, Bangladesh Gonotantrik Oikya Front, NAP Bhashani, National People's Party, Bangladesh National Democratic Front, Jukta Front, Gano Front, Prgogotishil Jote, Bangladesh Gonotantrik Mukti Andolan, Jatiyo Ganotantrik Jote, Bangladesh Satyabrata Andolan, Oikya NAP, Okyaboddho Nagorik Andolan, Gonotantrik Bam Oikya, Bangladesh Krishak Shramik Party, Progotishil Gonotantrik Dal, Bangladesh Muktojoddha Oikya Jote, Bangladesh Gonotantrik Oikya Jote, Trinamool Jatiyatabadi Gonotantrik Andolan, Jatiya Swadhinata Party, Bangladesh Jatiya Party and Bangladesh Jatiya Hindu Mohajote.

blogger sharing button blogger
buffer sharing button buffer
diaspora sharing button diaspora
digg sharing button digg
douban sharing button douban
email sharing button email
evernote sharing button evernote
flipboard sharing button flipboard
pocket sharing button getpocket
github sharing button github
gmail sharing button gmail
googlebookmarks sharing button googlebookmarks
hackernews sharing button hackernews
instapaper sharing button instapaper
line sharing button line
linkedin sharing button linkedin
livejournal sharing button livejournal
mailru sharing button mailru
medium sharing button medium
meneame sharing button meneame
messenger sharing button messenger
odnoklassniki sharing button odnoklassniki
pinterest sharing button pinterest
print sharing button print
qzone sharing button qzone
reddit sharing button reddit
refind sharing button refind
renren sharing button renren
skype sharing button skype
snapchat sharing button snapchat
surfingbird sharing button surfingbird
telegram sharing button telegram
tumblr sharing button tumblr
twitter sharing button twitter
vk sharing button vk
wechat sharing button wechat
weibo sharing button weibo
whatsapp sharing button whatsapp
wordpress sharing button wordpress
xing sharing button xing
yahoomail sharing button yahoomail