• Tuesday, Dec 10, 2019
  • Last Update : 12:59 am

IUB Ascension – a walk down memory lane

  • Published at 09:57 pm September 17th, 2018
IUB Ascension 2017 Photo
Nanyang Technological University's Justin John Surin and Mohammad Sharique Zaman collects IUB Ascension 2017 open-championship trophy, with runners-up Ahmed Naufal and Shitab Daiyan Akash from IIUM| Sadid Islam

The biggest debating tournament ever to be held in Asia - IUB Ascension 2018 - will have 116 teams participating in the tournament from September 20-22.   To encourage new debaters who will be experiencing this “platform of rhetoric” for the first time, here’s a review of the previous Ascension finals

Ascension 2016 winners:

The grand finale of IUB Ascension 2016 had an 11 member adjudication panel lead by Rishad Sharif, president of Bangladesh Debating Council that year. The participating schools were Academia and Viqarunnessa. After a tensely fought final the maiden trophy of IUB Ascension went to Shadman Karim, Wasif Amin Khan and Saquib Shahzad of Academia.

Here’s what Shadman had to say: “The feeling was unbelievable.  I can claim that at that instance I won the grandest tournament ever held in Bangladesh, until Ascension 2017.”

“It is hard to have any expectations from the Ascension organizing committee, as they will supersede ours. From my own team, the aim is to leave a mark once again,” he added.

Saquib Shahzad, Shadman Karim and Wasif Khan were the champions for IUB Ascension 2016| Sadid Islam

Ascension 2017 winners:

IUB Ascension 2017 had both university and school students competing for the title. There was a second final for high school students as well. The format of debate was the British Parliamentary; therefore four teams competed in each final. The school final were battled among Academia, European Standard School, Viqarunnessa and Mastermind Dhanmondi section, with the title eventually going to Ramisha Sharika and Shariqa Tasnim Shaila of Mastermind.

Ramisha had this to say for her team’s victory: “I first felt they announced our name by mistake. We never expected to break (qualify for the knock-out rounds). When it finally sunk in, I was lost for words.”

For Ascension 2018 Ramisha wants to give her best in every round.

Ramisha Sharika and Shariqa Tasnim Shaila, from Mastermind Dhanmondi section, were the surprize winners of inter-school final of IUB Ascension 2017| Sadid Islam

The open-category final was fought between two teams of Institute of Business Administration, Dhaka University, one from the International Islamic University, Malaysia and one from the Nanyang Technological University (NTU), Singapore. The chief adjudicator for the tournament and the final was Raffy Marshall from Oxford University, who had won the title of "best speaker of the world" in the World University Debating Championship of 2017.  The title in the open category for Ascension 2017 went to team NTU Singapore, which comprised of Mohammad Sharique Zaman and Justin John Surin.

Sharique told the Dhaka Tribune, “When we were announced as winners I was absolutely elated. I definitely want to come back for more Ascension.”