• Friday, Jan 24, 2020
  • Last Update : 02:19 am

Dr Debapriya appointed to UN body on LDCs

  • Published at 04:00 pm August 26th, 2018
Dr Debapriya
Dr Debapriya Bhattacharya

He will serve as a member on the 24-member strong committee for three years

The UN Economic and Social Council (ECOSOC) has appointed the Centre for Policy Dialogue’s Distinguished Fellow Dr Debapriya Bhattacharya, to the UN Committee for Development Policy (CDP).

Dr Debapriya will serve as a member of the 24-member strong CDP for a three-year term (2019-2021). 

The appointment was made following the recommendation of UN secretary general.

Established in 1965, the CDP is an independent body, under the UN, which advises on development cooperation policies in support of least developed countries (LDCs). 

Every three years, the CDP reviews the list of LDCs for inclusion in and graduation from the group. 

CDP’s current work program also includes rethinking the criteria defining the LDCs and recommending support measures for the graduating LDCs. 

The CDP will also be following Bangladesh’s progress in the context of its scheduled 2024 graduation. 

Debapriya is a globally recognized expert on LDC issues. 

He was the ambassador and permanent representative of Bangladesh to World Trade Organization (WTO) and UN office in Geneva and Vienna and the coordinator of the LDC Group in UN system in Geneva. 

The economist played a leadership role in many high-level negotiations at the WTO. 

He has also been the special advisor on LDCs to the Secretary-General and played an important role in organising the fourth UN Conference on LDCs in 2011. 

He currently heads two international think tank networks—namely the LDC IV Monitor and Southern Voice on SDGs. He was also the President of the UNCTAD governing board. 

Earlier, members to the CDP from Bangladesh were eminent economists Prof Nurul Islam, Prof Rehman Sobhan, and Prof Wahiduddin Mahmud.