• Friday, Mar 22, 2019
  • Last Update : 03:41 am

Eminent personalities condemn attacks on quota reformists

  • Published at 01:46 am July 5th, 2018
  • Last updated at 09:35 am July 5th, 2018
File Photo: Chhatra League leaders and activists kicking Joint Convener of Bangladesh General Students' Rights Protection Council Faruk Hasan, lying on the road, as he tries to save himself at Central Shaheed Minar in Dhaka on Monday, July 2, 2018 Dhaka Tribune

They have also demanded that all the cases filed against the activists be immediately withdrawn

Eminent personalities of the country have condemned the attacks on quota reformists and demanded justice for the victims.

They have also demanded that all the cases filed against the activists be immediately withdrawn.

In a press release issued on Wednesday, the signatories, including academics, lawyers, activists, journalists and civil society leaders, said that based on information and images published by the media, it was evident Chhatra League orchestrated the attacks on the students demanding quota reform.

They called these these attacks inhuman, illegal and against the fundamental rights of any citizen under the constitution. They condemned the role of the police, questioning their negligence of duty.

“The quota reformers, getting the assurance from the prime minister, withdrew their movement.

“Recently, because of the absence of any sort of announcement, the quota reformers only urged the government of publish a gazette, and they organized a press briefing.

But “the brutal attack by Chhatra League” on the reformists’ programs had put into question whether the basic rights of the public were being respected, the release said.

The release said the signatories welcomed the government’s move to set up a committee on quota reform.

The press note was signed by Prof Emeritus Dr Sirajul Islam Chowdhury, Dr Hamida Hossain, Rasheda K Chowdhury, Syed Abul Maksud, Dr Zafarullah Chowdhury, M Hafizuddin Khan, Dr Ahmed Kamal, Dr Shahdeen Malik, Dr Ridwanul Haque, Syeda Rizwana Hasan, Maheen Sultan, Farah Kabir, Dr Firdous Azim,  Rahnuma Ahmed, Dr Shahidul Alam, Dr Iftekharuzzaman, Lubna Mariam,  Rezaul Karim Chowdhury, Dr  Amena Mohsin, Dr Saidiya Gulrukh, Dr Sumaiya Khair, Cynthia Farid, Rezaur Rahman Lenin, Md Mahius Sunnah,  Meghna Guhathakurta, Badiul Alam, Dr Shapan Adnan, CR Abrar, Khushi Kabir, Muktashree Chakma, Seuty Sabur, Md Noor Khan,  Manzoor Hasan, Syed Sultan Uddin Ahmed, Maleka Begum,  Jyotirmoy Barua, Farida Akhter,  Hana Shams Ahmed, Tawkir omar Chowdhury, Arup Rahi, Shahnaz huda, Dr Shahnaz Huda, Shahin Anam, Adilur Rahman Khan, Asma Haque, Ferdousi Sultana Begum, Fazila Banu, Asif Nazrul, Zakir Hossain, Sara Hossain, Shirin P haque.