• Sunday, Jun 16, 2019
  • Last Update : 02:30 am

22 public holidays in 2018

  • Published at 05:26 pm November 6th, 2017
  • Last updated at 02:02 pm November 7th, 2017
22 public holidays in 2018
The cabinet on Monday approved 22 public holidays for the year 2018. The approval was given in the weekly meeting of the cabinet held at Prime Minister's office with Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina in the chair. Briefing reporters at Bangladesh Secretariat after the meeting Cabinet Secretary M Shafiul Alam said 14 days will be observed as ordinary public holidays and eight days will be observed under executive order. Four days, out of the 14 ordinary holidays and three days, out of eight holidays under executive order, are weekly holidays. The cabinet secretary said public holidays will be observed on February 21 (International Mother Language Day), March 17 (Bangabandhu's birth day) and March 26 (Independence Day), April 29 (Buddha Purnima), May 1 (May Day), June 15, Jamatul Bida, June 16 Eid-ul-Fitr, August 15 (National Mourning Day), August 22 (Eid-ul-Azha), September 2 (Janmastami), October 19 (Durga Puja), November 21 (Eid-e-Miladunnabi), December 16 (Victory Day) and December 25 (Christmas). Public holiday will be observed on April 14 (Pohela Boishakh), May 2 (Shab-e-Barat), June 12 (Shab-e-Kadr), June 15 and 17 (Eid-ul-Fitr), August 21 and 23 (Eid-ul-Azha) and September 21 (Ashura).