• Sunday, Jan 26, 2020
  • Last Update : 09:46 pm

UGC suggests students not enroll in 16 private universities

  • Published at 06:15 pm June 13th, 2017
  • Last updated at 05:34 pm June 18th, 2017
UGC suggests students not enroll in 16 private universities
The University Grants Commission (UGC) of Bangladesh has suggested to university admission seekers not to get enrolled in 16 private universities on the grounds of various problems including irregular holding of classes and exams and mismanagement in the institutions. The public order was issued by the monitoring body of the nation's higher educational institutions on June 11 this year to inform admission seekers of the 2017-2018 session. Among these 16, Rabindra Moitri University in Kushtia, Central University of Science and Technology in Dhaka, Rabindra Srijonkola University in Keraniganj, Rupayan AKM Shamsuzzoha University in Narayanganj and Anwar Khan Modern University have yet to start classes since they were established. The High Court has already declared to shut down Darul Ihsan University and all of its branch campuses. The rule also invalidates all other branch campuses of private universities. The UGC on April 26 issued a public order suggesting students not get admitted to any unapproved programmes offered by Gono University [or Gono Bishwabidyalay]. The university lodged a writ petition against the Education Ministry and the UGC before the High Court but the court rejected their plea. Besides, IBAIS University, Queen's University, Sylhet International University, Britannia University, Premier University, Prime University, Southern University of Bangladesh and University of Science and Technology in Chittagong are facing disagreements over their respective boards of trustees and cases are pending before courts. Meanwhile, the government has closed America Bangladesh University and Queen's University, yet these universities have continued academic activities after obtaining a stay order from the High Court over the government’s decision. The UGC, in describing the problems of these universities, also declared that the government and UGC would not be responsible if any student falls into trouble after getting admitted into them. A total of 95 private universities have permission to run educational programmes in the country under the Private University Act-2010, and 89 private universities are in operation at present.