• Sunday, Oct 20, 2019
  • Last Update : 07:56 pm

Ctg’s Dohazari, Comilla’s Lalmai become new municipality, upazila

  • Published at 03:30 pm January 9th, 2017
  • Last updated at 03:34 pm January 9th, 2017

  The National Implementation Committee for Administrative Reforms (Nicar) has approved the proposals of establishing Chittagong’s Dohazari and Comilla’s Lalmai into a municipality and upazila respectively. The approval was given in the Nicar meeting held at the secretariat on Monday with Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina in the chair. Lalmai will be the 491th upazila with a population of 22, 032 in 147.03 sq-km area. Nicar also decided to rename Pirojpur’s Zianagar upazila into Indurkani. The upazila was named Zianagar in 2002.