• Tuesday, Oct 16, 2018
  • Last Update : 06:02 pm

24 more 'Birangonas' recognised as freedom fighters

  • Published at 01:34 pm November 24th, 2016
  • Last updated at 02:35 pm November 24th, 2016
24 more 'Birangonas' recognised as freedom fighters

The government passed a law in the Jatiya Sangsad on January 29, 2015 for giving recognition to the 'Birangonas' as freedom fighters and a gazette notification was issued to this end recently, reports BSS.

The 24 women freedom fighters would get facilities including freedom fighters' allowances.

They are Anowara Begum, Ayesha Begum, Aleya Begum, Noorjahan Begum, Koila Begum, Fuljan Begum, Afiya Khatun Khonjoni, Momtaj Begum, Aleya Begum, Honofa Begum, Dele Bewa, Rahima, Mozida Begum, Saleha Bewa, Basirin Begum, Toru Bala, Fatema Begum, Kodeza Begum, Kuki Begum, Gendi Bewa, Sona Bala, Maya Rani, Jamela Khatun and Momena Begum.

So far, 170 women have received this recognition.