• Friday, Jul 19, 2019
  • Last Update : 09:51 am
Don’t risk lives on the waterways

Don’t risk lives on the waterways

Editorial

Sun, Sep 11 2016

Let us not repeat the tragedies of the past. Needless deaths occur in launch disasters every year, deaths...

Fake money is a real problem

Fake money is a real problem

Editorial

Sat, Sep 10 2016

Bangladesh needs to make the right kind of technological investments to find and root out money counterfeiting...

Putting an end to hunger

Putting an end to hunger

Editorial

Fri, Sep 9 2016

The prime minister’s promise that no one else will now starve to death is a cause for celebration

A long-term solution is needed for Eid...

A long-term solution is needed for Eid...

Editorial

Thu, Sep 8 2016

We need to think broader and more long-term: Building more flyovers, foot over-bridges, bus stations,...

A breakthrough in the fight against...

A breakthrough in the fight against...

Editorial

Wed, Sep 7 2016

While it is developed nations that are responsible for most greenhouse emissions, it tends to be poor...

No tax on education

No tax on education

Editorial

Tue, Sep 6 2016

There can be no justification on imposing an income tax on UGC-approved private universities only, a...

Pride of the nation

Pride of the nation

Editorial

Mon, Sep 5 2016

There is much that the rest of the country can learn from this team and their fighting spirit, determination,...

The right to worship applies to...

The right to worship applies to...

Editorial

Sun, Sep 4 2016

Secularism is embedded in the spirit of the Constitution of Bangladesh, which guarantees everyone the...

Put a stop to unethical cow-fattening...

Put a stop to unethical cow-fattening...

Editorial

Sat, Sep 3 2016

The changes to the cow caused by these injections are not merely cosmetic – severe health damage is done...

Two months on

Two months on

Editorial

Fri, Sep 2 2016

Rooting out terrorism completely is a tall order, but the progress we have made so far is nothing to...

Our city needs planning, not...

Our city needs planning, not...

Editorial

Thu, Sep 1 2016

Keeping one of the world’s most populous capitals on tenterhooks with periodic eviction drives is...

Justice for Risha

Justice for Risha

Uncategorized

Wed, Aug 31 2016

While most attention is given to rape and other violent crime, we cannot ignore other forms non-physical...

A welcome and long-awaited visit

A welcome and long-awaited visit

Uncategorized

Tue, Aug 30 2016

John Kerry’s maiden trip to Bangladesh yesterday was the first trip to Bangladesh for a United States...

A dive into the blue

A dive into the blue

Uncategorized

Mon, Aug 29 2016

Given the constant upward trajectory that our economy has been following, there is no better time than...

Got him

Got him

Uncategorized

Sun, Aug 28 2016

Let us build on this success and truly put an end to terror and militancy in Bangladesh

Earthquake preparedness needs to be...

Earthquake preparedness needs to be...

Uncategorized

Sat, Aug 27 2016

Let us not wait for the next major earthquake to hit. Let us prepare now

Farakka still a fracas

Farakka still a fracas

Uncategorized

Fri, Aug 26 2016

In Bangladesh, a country so reliant on it agriculture, the Farakka Barrage’s destructive effect on its...

Follow the Sherpur model to protect...

Follow the Sherpur model to protect...

Uncategorized

Thu, Aug 25 2016

There is a lot to be learned from initiatives being taken in the villages near Sherpur which have prevented...

Everyone deserves a hassle-free

Everyone deserves a hassle-free

Uncategorized

Wed, Aug 24 2016

VIP seats should be made available on a ‘first come, first serve’ basis so that the distribution process...

No substitute for safety

No substitute for safety

Editorial

Tue, Aug 23 2016

In order for Bangladesh to be a safer country, both the citizenry and the authorities need to work together....

India is listening

India is listening

Editorial

Mon, Aug 22 2016

Making the visa acquiring process easier with initiatives like this is a great way of generating goodwill...