• Monday, Aug 19, 2019
  • Last Update : 08:14 pm
Too many fires,  too many

Too many fires, too many

Editorial

Mon, Feb 27 2017

Arsonists cannot be allowed to get away with a mere slap on the wrist

Bangladesh is more than Dhaka

Bangladesh is more than Dhaka

Editorial

Sun, Feb 26 2017

Dhaka is a great connector for the rest of the country, but the government needs to look at the country...

Hard work makes it possible

Hard work makes it possible

Editorial

Sat, Feb 25 2017

After the horrific tragedy of Rana Plaza, we vowed never to let such a thing happen again, but there...

Primary education in trouble

Primary education in trouble

Editorial

Fri, Feb 24 2017

It is children who suffer the most as a result of this broken system

Put your money  where your mouth

Put your money where your mouth

Editorial

Thu, Feb 23 2017

If there are concerns to be addressed, certainly these global companies can engage in dialogue with the...

Farakka is bad for both sides

Farakka is bad for both sides

Editorial

Wed, Feb 22 2017

We hope the Bihar chief minister’s statements will hasten the way towards a viable, long-term solution...

Staying competitive  in a global...

Staying competitive in a global...

Editorial

Wed, Feb 22 2017

The Bangladesh economy has shown tremendous resilience over the years, and that is down to the creativity...

All that Ekushey stands for

All that Ekushey stands for

Editorial

Tue, Feb 21 2017

We owe it to the language martyrs to uphold the spirit of Amar Ekushey, by preserving and respecting...

More accidents waiting to happen

More accidents waiting to happen

Editorial

Sun, Feb 19 2017

Enough lives have been lost to road accidents in our country, it’s high time that the government lived...

Lives lost too soon

Lives lost too soon

Editorial

Sat, Feb 18 2017

It is about time we fought the bane of childhood cancer head-on, and provided the nation’s children with...

For greater economic freedom

For greater economic freedom

Editorial

Fri, Feb 17 2017

Widespread corruption and criminality, lack of transparency in bureaucratic proceedings, and political...

What caused the  Mohammadpur fire?

What caused the Mohammadpur fire?

Editorial

Thu, Feb 16 2017

The authorities should treat the matter with the seriousness that it deserves, and operate under the...

Stop the leak

Stop the leak

Editorial

Wed, Feb 15 2017

Some serious questions need to be answered in connection to these leaks, and all those involved must...

Make Bangladesh safe for women

Make Bangladesh safe for women

Editorial

Tue, Feb 14 2017

Gender-based violence has no place in a civilised society -- the government must take the issue more...

A carbon tax to fight climate...

A carbon tax to fight climate...

Editorial

Mon, Feb 13 2017

We need to be smart about the climate battle, and do so without hurting the dynamism of our economy

A bridge over troubling matters

A bridge over troubling matters

Editorial

Sun, Feb 12 2017

Exactly why did WB feel the need to shutter its funding so promptly?

Journalists under threat

Journalists under threat

Opinion

Sat, Feb 11 2017

It is part of job of the free press to ask hard questions -- sometimes doing so leads to exposing...

How long will Myanmar deny the...

How long will Myanmar deny the...

Editorial

Fri, Feb 10 2017

Myanmar now has to bear the full responsibility for what could well be the worst human atrocity of our...

A step in the wrong direction

A step in the wrong direction

Editorial

Thu, Feb 9 2017

Such a list is an ominous sign for a democracy, and would further compromise the already unsteady relationship...

Nothing will hold us back

Nothing will hold us back

Editorial

Wed, Feb 8 2017

PwC’s findings should serve as a tremendous confidence booster for Bangladesh, as our road to prosperity...

Do the EC nominees have what it...

Do the EC nominees have what it...

Editorial

Tue, Feb 7 2017

The EC must never give in to bullying, and must never abuse its power if it is to change this culture...