• Monday, Nov 18, 2019
  • Last Update : 11:51 pm
Lalon festival begins Wednesday

Lalon festival begins Wednesday

Showtime

Tue, Oct 15 2019

The Lalon Academy and Kushtia district administration have jointly organized the festival with the Cultural...

Police bar BNP leaders from meeting...

Police bar BNP leaders from meeting...

Nation

Sun, Oct 13 2019

Abarar Fahad, a second year student of electrical and electronic engineering department, was beaten to...

2 die of dengue in Chittagong,...

2 die of dengue in Chittagong,...

Nation

Sun, Oct 6 2019

The unofficial death toll stands at over 171, so far

Man dies of dengue in Kushtia

Man dies of dengue in Kushtia

Nation

Sun, Oct 6 2019

The unofficial death toll stands at over 171, so far

Crop yield per hectare goes up in...

Crop yield per hectare goes up in...

Business

Sun, Sep 29 2019

Around 2.57 metric tons of rice was cultivated in 2008-09, which jumped by 31.5% to 3.38 metric tons...

IU Proctor quits amid Chhatra League...

IU Proctor quits amid Chhatra League...

Nation

Mon, Sep 23 2019

He was allegedly involved in shooting people during the Chhatra League protests in 2014

Kushtia farmers experience success with...

Kushtia farmers experience success with...

Business

Sat, Jul 27 2019

According to sources at the district's Department of Agriculture Extension (DAE), pointed gourds...

Kushtia jute cultivation on the...

Kushtia jute cultivation on the...

Business

Sun, Jul 14 2019

The target of jute cultivation this year was set at 35,010 hectares in Kushtia. However, the jute...

Groundnut cultivation prospers on the...

Groundnut cultivation prospers on the...

Business

Wed, Jul 10 2019

They have attained success by cultivating groundnuts - or what they call the golden crop - near the vast...

Three drug peddlers get life imprisonment...

Three drug peddlers get life imprisonment...

Nation

Thu, Jul 4 2019

Kushtia District and Sessions Judge Court Judge Arup Kumar  Goswami handed down the verdict in presence...

Woman hacked to death in Kushtia

Woman hacked to death in Kushtia

Nation

Fri, Jun 28 2019

Police have already arrested the woman’s ex-husband in connection with the incident

Success beckons farmers to abandon tobacco...

Success beckons farmers to abandon tobacco...

Business

Tue, Jun 18 2019

According to the Department of Agriculture Extension (DAE)'s district office, watermelons are being...

Memorabilia of Mir Mosharraf Hossain...

Memorabilia of Mir Mosharraf Hossain...

Nation

Mon, Jun 10 2019

After the death of Mir Mosharraf Hossain, in 2008 the Mir Mosharraf Hossain Memorial Library and Auditorium...

Headmaster jailed for life for rape...

Headmaster jailed for life for rape...

Nation

Tue, May 21 2019

The court also ordered the convict to pay a penalty of Tk1 lakh, or face imprisonment for another six...

Lightning kills two in Kushtia

Lightning kills two in Kushtia

Nation

Tue, May 14 2019

The victims had been out collecting mangoes during storm

Drug dealer killed in ‘gunfight’ in...

Drug dealer killed in ‘gunfight’ in...

Nation

Fri, Apr 26 2019

A pistol, two rounds of bullets, two magazines and 50 bottles of phensedyl were also recovered from the...

2 killed in separate Kushtia road...

2 killed in separate Kushtia road...

Nation

Sat, Apr 20 2019

Both of them were run over by trucks

Imposter NSI official detained in...

Imposter NSI official detained in...

Crime

Sun, Apr 7 2019

Police have seized some paperwork, Tk50,000, and a toy gun

Businessman stabbed, killed in...

Businessman stabbed, killed in...

Nation

Fri, Mar 29 2019

The motive for the killing is not yet known

Three-day Lalon Fair kicks off

Three-day Lalon Fair kicks off

Showtime

Mon, Mar 18 2019

The fair is being organized as a memorial festival to commemorate the life of Lalon Fakir, with an accompanying...

Kushtia student sits for SSC exam at...

Kushtia student sits for SSC exam at...

Education

Sun, Feb 3 2019

The special arrangement allowed Ricky to take part in the exam at night while maintaining his religious...