• Tuesday, Jun 19, 2018
  • Last Update : 03:29 am

Why do slum fires recur with such deadly...

Special

Tue, Jun 19 2018

After a 57-minute delay by first responders and a three-hour fight Saturday night against flames

Illegal logging operations threaten...

Special

Fri, Jun 15 2018

The coastal city of Barguna is home to a planted forest covering 65,000 acres. However,

Illegal sawmills near forests in...

Special

Thu, Jun 14 2018

Several sawmills near the forest reserves of Barguna are accused of illegally chopping wood for

Acute lack of manpower in Barguna Forest...

Special

Wed, Jun 13 2018

Barguna district has about 65,000 acres of forestland. This vast amount of land does not

Barguna Forest Department guards living...

Special

Mon, Jun 11 2018

The forest guards of the coastal city of Barguna, working under the Forest Department of

Import duty on rice: Too little too...

Special

Mon, Jun 11 2018

Since the finance minister announced in his budget speech that an import duty will be

Chemon Ara Begum: An inspiration to...

Special

Thu, Jun 7 2018

Three decades ago, Chemon Ara Begum was among a new generation of women being inspired

Why can’t we have more women in...

Special

Wed, Jun 6 2018

Bangladesh’s politics over the past three decades can be summed up by the fervour around

When dreams turn into nightmares

Ziasmin Akter lives in Manikganj. Her father, Tara Mia, is a van driver and her mother is a...

From Myanmar to Bangladesh: Yaba’s journey...

Special

Sat, Jun 2 2018

Yaba has become a headache for Bangladesh because of an alarming rise in smuggling of

Illegal drugs: 62.23% of accused acquitted...

Special

Fri, Jun 1 2018

A staggering 62.23% of the total number of people accused in drug-related offences has been

The ugly truth about custodial...

Special

Wed, May 30 2018

A recent review of deaths in custody revealed a significant increase in the number of

World Menstrual Hygiene Day: Menstruation...

Special

Mon, May 28 2018

Menstruation taboos stemming from a general lack of menstrual hygiene awareness, pose major health...

Is corporal punishment really effective...

Special

Wed, May 23 2018

Half of all primary school students in Bangladesh still experience corporal punishment in the...

Sexual assaults during festivals: Trial...

Special

Tue, May 22 2018

Sexual assault or molestation is an omnipresent risk for women everywhere, but it’s an...

Workplace sexual harassment remains...

Special

Mon, May 21 2018

The supervisor used to send dirty jokes to Samia (not her real name), but she

Sexual harassment on buses: ‘Everyone...

Bangladesh , Special

Sat, May 19 2018

Victims of sexual harassment on buses continue to suffer as the painstakingly slow trial process

No end in sight for violent factional...

Special

Fri, May 18 2018

Violence is growing in the three hill districts of Bangladesh. In the recent years, there

What went down in Rangamati on May...

Special

Fri, May 18 2018

The events of May 4 unfolded like a scene out of a mafia novel. A

Midwifery transforms childbirth risks...

Special

Mon, May 14 2018

A generation ago, Bangladesh was considered one of the riskiest places in the world in

How SMS changed the lives of millions...

Special

Mon, May 14 2018

For Bangladeshis, accessing health and medical services has always been a daunting task, no less