• Tuesday, Sep 18, 2018
  • Last Update : 11:28 pm
Unearthing Buddha

Unearthing Buddha

Uncategorized

Fri, May 22 2015

There is also very little doubt that the ‘Indian’ monks to which he refers would, today, many of them,...

The one who became many

The one who became many

Uncategorized

Fri, May 15 2015

As the founder of India’s first pharmaceutical company, Bengal Chemicals and Pharmaceuticals, Prafulla...

Walsingham’s greatest legacy?

Walsingham’s greatest legacy?

Uncategorized

Fri, May 8 2015

Despite “fits and starts” of the ensuing century, the foundations were laid for what was to become the...

Chittagong: Putting the cart before...

Chittagong: Putting the cart before...

Uncategorized

Fri, Apr 24 2015

There is Chinese documentation suggesting that the early mosque, built in Shanghai during the lifetime...

Dhaka, before the fall

Dhaka, before the fall

Uncategorized

Fri, Apr 17 2015

Today, Dhaka, quite apart from any other adjectives that may be applied to it, might well be described...

The missing link

The missing link

Uncategorized

Fri, Apr 10 2015

Promotion of such an ancient trading route must, inevitably, include Bangladesh as the only realistic...

Bengal lights

Bengal lights

Uncategorized

Fri, Apr 3 2015

The Chinese capacity for ‘partying’ -- a capacity that certainly reached east to Japan -- appears, even...

Wealth, trade, and Bangladesh

Wealth, trade, and Bangladesh

Uncategorized

Fri, Mar 27 2015

Throughout these dramatic years, Dhaka remained, firmly, capital, and the centre of this vast revenue-collecting...

French lessons

French lessons

Uncategorized

Fri, Mar 20 2015

In their own way, the French give us a picture of our land in the 17th centuryThe sources of our historic,...

Faithless and ferocious

Faithless and ferocious

Uncategorized

Fri, Mar 13 2015

Here, once upon a time, was a flourishing community of substantial citizens, rulers evenThe Pathan Khilji...

The Maid of Patiya

The Maid of Patiya

Uncategorized

Fri, Mar 6 2015

Pritilata Waddedar’s story remains vital in the fight for freedomThe small town of Patiya, that lies...

The kingdom of Ramu

The kingdom of Ramu

Uncategorized

Fri, Feb 13 2015

From at least the time when Ptolemy marked Ramu on his map in the 2nd century, until the better documented...

Western heaven: The land of bliss

Western heaven: The land of bliss

Uncategorized

Thu, Feb 5 2015

In China they say: ‘Go to Western Heaven for Buddhist scriptures.’ In Sanskrit these lands of ‘Western...

The bequest of Cox’s Bazar

The bequest of Cox’s Bazar

Uncategorized

Fri, Jan 30 2015

Without Hiram Cox, there may well have been an initiative undertaken, but as his companions, to commemorate...

A hell crammed with good things

A hell crammed with good things

Uncategorized

Fri, Jan 23 2015

The climate may have been hell, but the good things of the lands that are now Bangladesh seem to have...

The merchant of London

The merchant of London

Uncategorized

Fri, Jan 16 2015

Tim Steel portrays a vivid picture of the lands and people around the Ganges Delta, the heart of today’s...

Pratapaditya, another freedom...

Pratapaditya, another freedom...

Uncategorized

Fri, Jan 9 2015

The peoples of the lands that are now the nation of Bangladesh have a rich and ancient history of resistance...

A road to empires

A road to empires

Uncategorized

Wed, Dec 31 2014

The Grand Trunk Road remains one of the earliest, and most enduring of feats of communications planning,...

Child’s war

Child’s war

Uncategorized

Thu, Dec 25 2014

Child’s War, much neglected, or overshadowed, in both Britain, and the history of the lands that are...

The paradise of nations

The paradise of nations

Uncategorized

Fri, Dec 19 2014

The trade that, in Aurangzeb’s day, moved him to make his famous remark about Bengal, describing it as...

Was Shinto born here?

Was Shinto born here?

Uncategorized

Fri, Dec 5 2014

It was, in fact, pursuit of his study of the more mystical aspects of Mahayana that took Bodhisena to...